We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Century Park Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$77
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greens Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castles Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
185
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bblueberry pancakessuperb hospitalitylavender roomnew zealandextensive listpaul janetguest loungecozy roomhoneymoon suitesouth islandlinden leavesperfect hostsbreakfast choicesabel tasmanhot tubfresh fruit
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We had a very warm welcome at the start of our 3 night stay which was only exceeded by the attention and service we received throughout our time there. The spa was wonderful and only topped by being served wine by Robyn while we were enjoying the pamper. We had many interesting conversations with both Kees and Robyn and all others we met in their lounge in the evening. The attention to detail was amazing from a pen and notebook in the bedside cabinet ,a lavender pad on our pillows,afternoon tea on arrival,a wonderful choice at breakfast,a comfortable lounge, an amazingly comfortable bed etc etc etc ! Thank you both!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GouldsDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Yes there is much banter and exchanged travel experiences in the guest lounge in the evenings and of course with so many different and various cultures, some very interesting conversation which we are often privileged to be a part of. Discussions at breakfast and in the evenings are the best way of discovering Nelson's best kept secrets and of course the best place to stay at the next destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We had an excellent 4 day stay where Robin and Kees proved to be wonderful, hospitable hosts.
We had a small clitch on arrival which was handled superbly and with out fuss.
Their place is ideally located and much nicer and better than any hotel.
We look forward to a repeat visit in the near future.
Jan

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oli854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Thank you for a wonderful review and kind comments.
Thankfully glitches are few and far between, but this was a situation created by the booking channel and out of our control. However, any issues must be handled speedily and with great care of the guests and to the best of our ability which is what we aim to achieve. This couple made our job easy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Immaculate b&b run by welcoming and thoughtful Kees and Robyn. Lots of little extras to enjoy during our stay. Great advice on local restaurants which we tried out and thoroughly enjoyed. Loved our chats and thoroughly enjoyed the warm hospitality. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Sometimes as a host you wish there was a place you could rate your guests! This is one of those times. These were the loveliest people, hosting them was all our pleasure! Thank you so much for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We intended to stay one night and stayed four. Robyn & Kees are wonderful hosts and run a first class establishment. The breakfasts are exceptionally good and we could not have been happier. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highlander52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Thank you for the recommendations and your kind comments. Always good to know we are doing our best for our lovely guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Where to start! A short trip from the airport and ample parking amid a lovely cottage garden. Robyn and Kees are the most wonderful hosts - so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Ideas for good restaurants, and excellent suggestions on what to do and where to go in Nelson & the surrounding area - no problem, and they made bookings for us if required. Spacious rooms (our party had the Cream and Burgundy rooms) with very comfortable beds. The toiletries were top class (and so were the chocolates!) Plenty of powerpoints & mirrors & wardrobe+drawer space & coathangers. Great water pressure in the showers and lovely fluffy towels & robes. The Burgundy Room ensuite is large and the Cream Room's ensuite is smaller but manageable. Two areas to relax outside, surrounded by greenery (and that's not including the spa pool area), as well as the lounge inside which had everything you could want (TV, tea, coffee, small fridge, free WiFi, fresh fruit, nibbles, etc). Breakfasts to die for(!) served inside or out depending on the weather, as well as the afternoon tea treats and/or glass of wine and delicious nibbles after a hard day's sightseeing. And so many interesting stories. We had such a great holiday, thanks to Robyn & Kees's attention to every little detail. We would certainly stay here next time we are in Nelson. We have stayed in a number of B&Bs in different countries (most of them great) but Ambleside would be our #1.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you so much for the amazing review. We really appreciate the positive feedback as it is always our endeavour to do our very best for our lovely guests. Having lived in the region for many years, we do know all the best spots to visit and we love nothing more than sharing them with the guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews