We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mgarr, Malta
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We've stayed in many bed & breakfasts, Ambleside is one that we will remember as being very special. Robyn and Kees are superb hosts, nothing is too much trouble. As soon as we arrived we were offered tea and home made cakes in the garden, our room was immaculate. The continental breakfast was excellent - cereal, home made muesli, numerous fresh fruits, yogurt, bread and pastries. One morning my husband was tempted by the cooked breakfast which was also excellent. Robyn and Kees recommended really good restaurants and the Abel Tasman National Park boat trip and walk which we thoroughly enjoyed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Always pleased to hear our guests have enjoyed their stay and that we have cared for them to the best of our ability. Makes hosting a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
139
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
691 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Robyn and Kees were wonderful hosts from the moment we arrived with presenting us with a welcome cup of tea and a glass of water and cakes, helping us to find a nearby place to eat dinner, providing a very comfortable room, and preparing a super breakfast until our departure. They do have a cat but they keep it out of the bedrooms. I had no allergy problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bwimpyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for the great review! Always our pleasure to host lovely people.
Our cat, Chelsea, a Maine Coon and very spoilt, is just about to have her 13th birthday! She has also been recently diagnosed with cancer, so she is being a little more pampered these days. She is not a lap-cat, but does love to hang out with our guests. If guests do have allergy problems I am more than happy to do extra vacuuming, and ensure Chelsea does not go into the guest area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We have never stayed at such a helpful friendly B and B. Robyn and Kees treated us like family spoiling us with little treats, welcoming us home with hot tea and homemade goodies and sharing their enthusiasm for the Nelson area with us and booking wonderful experiences for us. Nothing was too much trouble. They were the perfect hosts who will count among our friends for a long time to come. We cannot recommend this B and B highly enough. Julie and Peter

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
This delightful couple were such a pleasure to host! We enjoyed their company very much and it is people like these who make our job so easy... Thank you so much for the wonderful review!
We are passionate about our lovely region - the beautiful Abel Tasman Park, the gorgeous beaches, world famous World of WearableArt and Classic car Exhibition Centre, myriad wineries, cafes and craft brewers, our own beautiful lakes district and our lovely town with its pretty hanging baskets. Tahunanui Beach is safe for swimming and is just down the road from us As they say it is all here, all year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

After leaving the Abel Tasman in torrential rain after New Years we were lucky enough to get the last room at Ambleside which was the cream room. Huge room and bed which was so comfortable and felt like heaven, especially after camping. Robyn and Kees were very warm and welcoming offering refreshments and cakes straight away. The outdoor area is really pretty and there is a mint spa pool with robes and towels and Kees prepares it whenever you like. A lot of complimentary drinks on offer, comprehensive guide book with their reviews on local restaurants which is helpful as Nelson has some amazing restaurants. The breakfast is a standout, massive menu, fresh free range eggs, berries, fruit, yoghurt, home made muesli and I had the best pancakes I've ever eaten! Also Linden Leaves toiletries, divine :) thank you!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nz_travellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review! Yes even when the weather is not behaving in Nelson, there is always a warm welcome, a relaxing place to unwind, and the free fast wireless internet allows you to catch up with friends and loved ones at home when it is raining outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Ambleside Luxury B&B was our final stop in the South Island and by the time we arrived, we were both exhausted. Kees took us directly to our cozy room and told us all about how the B&B came to be. He helped us to find a place to have dinner and made us feel very welcome in his home. There was quite an extensive menu to choose from for breakfast.

I met Robyn later in the evening and she was so genuinely kind and happy to see me. After such a long trip, I was happy to be here. We were looked after in every way. Everything you could possibly imagine was provided in the bathroom and the towels were fluffy and smelled heavenly.

I can't forget about the gardens and Chelsea, their Maine coon cat. I saw flowers in their well-tended garden that I have never seen before. I highly recommend staying with Robyn and Kees. Although you might want to hurry because I think they are retiring soon. Bummer!

If you are interested in hearing more about our New Zealand vacation, please visit my blog at yvetterene.blogspot.com.au.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheYvetteRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
What a lovely guest this lady is! Always makes our job so easy to have such grateful and lovely people stay...
We do understand people often arrive very weary after their travels, so endeavour to give space and privacy with a welcoming cup of tea or coffee to ensure they feel relaxed and comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just walking in to this beautiful home makes you relax. Everything that could be done for your holiday pleasure has been done...and more. Robyn and Kees are perfect hosts. The rooms are delightfully and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was beyond belief! Such a wonderful place ot saty in such a beautiful area of the world!!

Room Tip: Lavender room is beautiful but small for a couple with holiday luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlossominOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are delighted to know that our guests enjoyed our kiwi hospitality!
Regarding the Lavender room - we do state clearly this is our smallest room and is more suited to the single traveller. If there are other rooms available we always offer an upgrade to a larger room especially if people have a lot of luggage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Thank you Robyn and Kees for sharing your wonderful house with us, but above all for your friendship and kindness. We enjoyed the cleanliness everywhere, the décor, the nice breakfast choices cooked by Kees and the beautiful garden. We will be back when in Nelson. We certainly recommend Ambleside B&B to anyone who would like to get spoiled.
Dorothea and Roger

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taka2843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We, here at Ambleside, endeavour to deliver the very best of kiwi hospitality to the discerning traveller. Our breakfast choices seem to be a great hit with our guests and it is indeed humbling to know that even after 11 years of doing our best to provide a quality experience, our guests still enjoy all we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.3 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#7 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
Bay Crest Motor Lodge
#3 of 41 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#1 of 55 in Nelson
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 237 Annesbrook Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Luxury Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located on SH6, minutes from the airport (although not under the flight path), close to the Nelson Golf course and Tahunanui, our beautiful safe swimming beach, fabulous restaurants, a few minutes to the CBD, and only 45 minutes drive to the stunning Abel Tasman Park.Ambleside B&B is a purpose-built B&B, built in 2003, and in keeping with the character of the 1936 bungalow. The guest wing is located at the rear of the property and provides a peaceful and quiet ambience. FREE FAST WIRELESS INTERNET is available everywhere on the property. Guests have own carpark, own entrance and each of the FOUR GUEST ROOMS has its own ensuite bathroom, one with a large bathroom with disabled facilities. All luxury amenities, beautiful linens and toiletries are provided.The guest lounge provides a relaxing place to check emails, plan activities and itineraries from the extensive brochure display, watch a movie or just chat with other travellers whilst enjoying a glass of local Nelson wine. Breakfast is extra special - and we are humbled by the fact guests often note in the guest-book it is the best they have had in the country!! Choose from our extensive menu - gourmet, cooked and continental - we also provide gluten-free options and dairy free - then enjoy it in the courtyard in the surrounds of the beautiful garden alongside the stream - the gently flowing water providing an extra special ambience. Outdoor seating areas, and the spa pool provide all-day comfort for those just wanting to relax and take in the beautiful Nelson climate and scenery. Built on the level, there are no steps or stairs to negotiate, but there are still beautiful views of the hills and mountains and the sea is only 20 minutes walk away.Everything you need is here to make your stay extra special with every comfort provided to ensure your stay is typically a memorable kiwi experience. Hosts, Janine and Peter are accompanied by their little West Highland Terrier, Billie, who although loves to hang out with her guests, does not require a lap to sit on, or even a pat, but she does love to pose for your camera!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambleside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing