We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Ambleside Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 55 Nelson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Ambleside Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We spent two weeks travelling between both Islands of New Zealand and quite apart from the most friendly and welcoming reception from Robyn and Kees the accommodation here was exemplary. Nothing was too much trouble for them and the attention to detail with personal preferences for breakfast was excellent.
Mike & Val, England

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for such kind words! Our goal is to simply do our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
140
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our hosts were very friendly. The house, room and gardens were pretty. Free wi fi. Lots of brochures, snacks, etc in a shared lounge. No tv in each room, but private bathrooms for each. We did not tell our hosts in advance that we prefer gluten free and dairy free products, but to our delight they had both!! This was by far the best and most accommodating breakfast we had in our 2 week stay of the South Island. So many brekkie options with different gluten free cereals, different lactose free milks, what a dream! Hosts were very friendly. Only very minor thing, I got woken up by the traffic from the main road each morning (I am a very light sleeper), our room was closer to the front of the house (primrose) than others. Would definitely recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your encouragement about our breakfasts! As we too are gluten intolerant, everything we provide here is gluten free and mostly lactose free as well. We are finding more and more people are preferring healthy options...
Over the 11 years we have operated our Bed & Breakfast we have asked guests if they would like TVs in their rooms - the answer has always been a definitive NO! As we are a purpose built B&B, we have a separate guest lounge with a large HDTV and DVD player with an extensive DVD selection. So our guests will relax in their lounge and sometimes watch a bit of TV before retiring. For the "light sleepers" we have double glazing in the bedrooms but of course the windows have to be closed for them to be effective and there are earplugs in the drawers of the bedside cabinets! We do have it all covered here - guests need only tell us their every need!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Ambleside is a beautiful and luxurious place to stay in Nelson and combined with the warmth, care and hospitality of the hosts, the Bed & Breakfast made our stay a bliss.

We were in Nelson during our honeymoon when we wished for beauty, romance love and everything nice and special. Our stay at Ambleside provided us all that and much more. An experience both of us would definitely want to revisit and suggest everyone to enjoy while in Nelson.

We thank the hosts for making our stay in Nelson an experience we would never forget.

- Aditya & Reema, India

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJRJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for a lovely review! Some of our couples inform us well in advance that when they are staying with with us it will be on their honeymoon. We love to make it special for them - flowers, rose petals and other wee touches just to make it more romantic!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Our short stay at Ambleside far exceeded all expectations. Robyn and Kees went above and beyond to ensure our experience at their lovely home was as comfortable as possible. The rooms were spotlessly clean and I loved the extra special touch of chocolates by the luxurious beds. We were spoilt for choice at breakfast, from Robyn's delicious homemade muesli (which I personally loved), to Kees' most wonderful cooked breakfast. They were the most welcoming and generous hosts in every way, nothing was ever too much of a trouble for them. We truly enjoyed our time there, and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning to visit the area. Jessy, Greig, Lillian, Seng Hun.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for this glowing review! We are very humbled by such lovely comments and it is always so nice to hear the chocolates by the bed, the home-made gluten-free muesli, and our attention to detail is appreciated. Kees's breakfasts are fast becoming famous here at Ambleside!! We do love our guests and it is always our endeavour to make each and everyone feel special. This adult family were so lovely, easy to care for and were so grateful and appreciative of all we did for them. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greasby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

My sister and I were lucky to experience this luxury bed and breakfast before picking up our camper van to tour the South Island. Robyn and Kees made us feel very welcome after a last minute booking and we could immediately relax knowing we'd found somewhere special. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean with a luxurious bathroom and high quality toiletries.
All the extra touches such as tea, cakes and wine were provided. Sadly, we didn't get to try the hot tub as the weather was a bit inclement.

The best part about staying at Ambleside is the genuine warmth and hospitality from Robyn and Kees which is not intrusive. We only stayed two nights but felt like family by the time we had to leave. They gave us some good advice for our travels and had we not stayed with them, would not have visited Pohara on the Golden Bay (which is like heaven).

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Ambleside to even the fussiest traveller but please, only nice people need apply.

Room Tip: All rooms are different but of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 638Parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
We were so blessed to have these two lovely ladies to stay! We did so enjoy getting to know them a little and were sad to see them go! It is people like these that make our job so easy and delightful and because we love sharing the top spots of our country to visit (there will be an itinerary planner/guide book one of these days), it was great being able to help them plan their journey. The "inclement" weather, we are pleased to report has departed, although Autumn is beginning to spread her cloak, so cool mornings and evenings in Nelson, but the days are still hot and beautiful. Just a note: if you are self-planning your vacation in Nelson, please talk to us, we would love to help you with your itinerary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Ambleside was one of the best places we stayed on our road trip around New Zealand. Robyn and Kees were the most wonderful hosts and could not do enough for us. There were so many wonderful touches we would not have expected, eg: tea and cakes when we arrived, the hot tub, a glass of wine in the evening and many more. We would recommend every visitor to stay here. If you don't you will not know what you have missed!
Gill and Brian UK

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review! Always delighted to know our guests have enjoyed their experience staying with us here at Ambleside. Now that summer has decided to stay, the guests are enjoying their Nelson holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We were so lucky to stay here for 6 nights on our honeymoon roadtrip around the South Island - it was hands down the most wonderful place we stayed.

Kees cooks the most fabulous breakfasts you can imagine, and we really looked forward to these every morning.

Robyn is an absolute sweetheart and made sure we were absolutely pampered the entire time we were there. They made sure we knew what we were doing and where we were going, so no time was wasted, and when we took some time out to relax in their lovely garden and jacuzzi we enjoyed that too.

Our bedroom was lovely, really comfy bed and superb bedlinen (I really notice these things) and Robyn and Kees pay such attention to detail. We really missed staying here once we left, it really is such a special place - I'm sure we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toscabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
This couple were absolutely delightful and a real joy to have stay! It is always fun to decorate the room a bit extra specially with hearts and rose petals etc...
We are fairly passionate about our beautiful region of Nelson, so always happy to recommend the must see and do places and to ensure all guests get the very best from their stay with us.
Great to see the Jacuzzi being used and sunny days ensures lots of relaxation in the courtyard.
Thank you for a wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
2.9 mi away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
659 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
2.2 mi away
Century Park Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
3.0 mi away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
142 reviews
2.0 mi away
Te Puna Wai Lodge
Te Puna Wai Lodge
#2 of 55 in Nelson
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambleside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambleside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 237 Annesbrook Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ambleside Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ambleside Luxury Bed & Breakfast is conveniently located on SH6, minutes from the airport (although not under the flight path), close to the Nelson Golf course and Tahunanui, our beautiful safe swimming beach, fabulous restaurants, a few minutes to the CBD, and only 45 minutes drive to the stunning Abel Tasman Park.Ambleside B&B is a purpose-built B&B, built in 2003, and in keeping with the character of the 1936 bungalow. The guest wing is located at the rear of the property and provides a peaceful and quiet ambience. FREE FAST WIRELESS INTERNET is available everywhere on the property. Guests have own carpark, own entrance and each of the FOUR GUEST ROOMS has its own ensuite bathroom, one with a large bathroom with disabled facilities. All luxury amenities, beautiful linens and toiletries are provided.The guest lounge provides a relaxing place to check emails, plan activities and itineraries from the extensive brochure display, watch a movie or just chat with other travellers whilst enjoying a glass of local Nelson wine. Breakfast is extra special - and we are humbled by the fact guests often note in the guest-book it is the best they have had in the country!! Choose from our extensive menu - gourmet, cooked and continental - we also provide gluten-free options and dairy free - then enjoy it in the courtyard in the surrounds of the beautiful garden alongside the stream - the gently flowing water providing an extra special ambience. Outdoor seating areas, and the spa pool provide all-day comfort for those just wanting to relax and take in the beautiful Nelson climate and scenery. Built on the level, there are no steps or stairs to negotiate, but there are still beautiful views of the hills and mountains and the sea is only 20 minutes walk away.Everything you need is here to make your stay extra special with every comfort provided to ensure your stay is typically a memorable kiwi experience. Hosts, Janine and Peter are accompanied by their little West Highland Terrier, Billie, who although loves to hang out with her guests, does not require a lap to sit on, or even a pat, but she does love to pose for your camera!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ambleside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing