We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great nights stay”
Review of Castles Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castles Motel
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Reviewed 17 June 2014

went to nelson in may 2014 via lewis pass from Christchurch and it rained all the way..we arrived without a booking and decided to try our luck up tahunanui drive. this motel looks lovley from outside so while hubby parked the car I went to reception and was greeted by a pleasant man who gave us the spa suite. it has a spa bath in the bedroom and was very luxurious. for 1
$145 a night it was very clean and well presented. would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buglesChchNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Arrived here late on a Friday night as our flight left Auckland at 8.30pm but we were still able to check in.
The room was spacious, clean and inviting.
Really really really friendly hosts, pointed us in the direction of local bars and gave us discount vouchers for one.
I'd give it 5 stars but we just thought the price (as well as other hotels/motels around Nelson) was quite high given how many motels/hotels and subsequent competition there must be.
But overall really nice hard working hosts and would stay there again most definitely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jedimastafez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

recently stayed at this motel in Nelson. Extremely clean and all units were of high standard. There were 9 ladies staying and all commented on how great this motel was. Even the studio had a full sized kitchen in them. Very close to the beach and only max of 10 minutes into Nelson City. 5 Mins to the Airport. The owners were very hospitable and could not do enough for us during out stay.
When we left they gave all the ladies a pen so they could remember the trip to this motel and to Nelson.
Would definately stay here again. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 466CorrinneC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

This motel is sited in Tahuanuni , 10 minutes from the airport & a short walk to the popular Tahuna Beach. Check in was quick & easy, the hosts welcoming & the rooms all spacious with a full kitchenette & bathroom facilities. Two units have spa baths & are particularly nice & all of the rooms have been refurbished over the past year. There is plenty of off street parking . The motel offers a continental breakfast for $10 pp & is in close proximity to a number of restaurants & cafes, some which has a charge back facility or if you are arriving in the evening ,& the hosts are notified, they will arrange a meal at a local hotel to be ready for you when you arrive - about 5 minutes walk away. The city centre is 10 minutes by car but the buses go past regularly. This motel is very reasonably priced & has the advantage of having a meeting room which can seat up to 15, ideal for meetings etc & the owner tells me catering can be organised.There are a number of room configurations that would suit solo traveller, couples, to rooms big enough for a family This is a very well priced motel & many travellers seem to enjoy it so much that they extend their stay, we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The downstairs spa suite, at $150 a night it is great value & a lovely big room with easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gypsy039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed one night found the motel has a great location, minutes walk to McDonald's, very handy especially travelling with kids, and is also very close to beaches. We stayed in the upstair corner family unit, a bit old but well maintained, very spacious, and comfortable king size bed. Proximity to the main road can be noisy at night and it would be great to have air condition. Overall we enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Had a great night's accommodation. Quiet comfortable clean room with friendly and helpful staff. Dinner was readily available from the local hotel which booked it to our room making it convenient and easy. Units are big enough for a family to stay for an extended period without falling over each other. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki01-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night in September 2013 on our trip around the south isand. The motel was clean and had everything required. Check in was quick and easy, the room was clean, tidy and more than big enough. We had had a long day in Abel Tasman so didnt want to go to far in the evening once we got to the hotel - there were a number of good restaurants within 200m of the hotel as well as a great local pub. Would definitely recommend to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.9 mi away
Greens Motel Nelson
Greens Motel Nelson
#33 of 42 in Nelson
78 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn Nelson
Quality Inn Nelson
#13 of 42 in Nelson
128 reviews
0 mi away
Beaches Nelson
Beaches Nelson
#16 of 42 in Nelson
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Motel
Balmoral Motel
#29 of 42 in Nelson
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aloha Lodge
Aloha Lodge
#11 of 42 in Nelson
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
ASURE Fountain Resort Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castles Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castles Motel

Address: 44 Tahunanui Drive | Tahunanui, Nelson 7011, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in Nelson
Price Range: £57 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castles Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Spacious Units, ranging from Studios to 1 Bedroom Units some with 2 person Spa Baths in the Bedrooms. All Units have Full Kitchen Facilities. Castles Motel is a 200m walk to Tahunanui Beach, 6 minute drive to the City Centre of Nelson and Close to Airport. We are surrounded by numerous Restaurants and Cafes. Try a stay at our Friendly family Run Motel, your Gateway to the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castles Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing