We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a show”

Miyazu Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #79 of 177 Restaurants in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: An authentic Japanese restaurant offering an array of delicious choices, using the freshest local seafood and highest quality local produce, from the sushi and sashimi bar, the teppanyaki or the a la carte menu. At the sushi and sashimi bar you can watch your chef prepare your meal using only the freshest ingredients. Enjoy the entertainment of the teppanyaki grill where you are almost part of the cooking experience, or for a quieter meal choose to dine from the a la carte menu and enjoy traditional flavours and service.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food and a show”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The teppenyaki meal was great, and the chef was amusing and entertaining. One of the better teppenyaki experiences I have had, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasneem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    22
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
190 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

The meal we had here was great and a true Japanese Resturant. Good service and very helpfull wait staff. Not too pricy and you go away feeling just nice and full.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent sushi bar”
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is one of our favourite dining experiences in Nelson at the sushi bar. Freshly made sushi & sashimi prepared before your eyes, the platter for two is such good value. Always attentive staff and a choice of Japanese beers as well makes for a great dining experience for us on a regular basis.

Thanks, Miyazu.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shordavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always our restaurant of choice!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

This is our all time favourite Nelson restaurant. It's unquestionably the best sushi/sushimi in Nelson - the quality of which is always high and reliably consistent. They always have a good selection of fresh sushimi at the sushi bar and their very highly skilled (Japanese trained) Sushi chef (Yuki) will happily tailor to suit. Pricing is very reasonable, compared to the big cities its a steal!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stella-x-o-xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Best food ever. We went for Teppan Yaki last night and it was absolutely superb. Our chef was hilarious and did such a great job. The waitstaff were so attentive and looked after us really well. Definitely one of the best meals I've ever had. The beef just melted in your mouth, and the fried rice was to die for. Not really into the raw fish bit, but I ate it all the same and loved it! Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Punkysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miyazu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Miyazu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing