We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day in the Bay of Islands”
Review of Phantom Sailing

Phantom Sailing
Ranked #1 of 17 Tours in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A day out on Phantom gives you a chance to get away from the crowds. This is adventure, relaxation and scenic beauty all in one with the personal atmosphere created by your hosts, Rick and Robin. Enjoy a great home cooked lunch amongst the beauty of the islands on this great owner- operator boat.
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I sailed with Rick and Robin in January of 2014 during our stay in Russell. The weather was a bit overcast, but we had dolphins to keep us company as we sailed, and Rick and Robin's professional commentary on the regatta races going on all around us in the harbor which was very exciting. The day cleared nicely as we settled into a delicious home made lunch on the deck and chatted about things far and near-Robin is originally from Brooklyn NY as are we, which was great fun as Robin was the only New Yorker we met on our entire trip down under. I highly recommend sailing on the Phantom for a lovely experience in the Bay of Islands where you will feel like you are among friends.

Thank Frances D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you Frances for this review. It means a lot. We had a great day together with some wonderful conversation. It was so nice to get to know you on that gorgeous day and share some stories. I often meet folks that say they are from NY but we that are from Brooklyn know that's quite another story. Hope you're both well and enjoyed the remainder of your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

214 - 218 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We were very fortunate to spend Rick and Robins last day of the 2013/2014 season with them aboard Phantom. What a wonderful experience from start to finish. R&R are stars! Great food, great conversation, lots of laughs and lots of dolphins. We couldn't imagine a better way to explore bay of islands, Rick and Robin's knowledgeable, entertaining, environmentally respectful tour is one that we will not forget in a hurry. Thank you both, and we wish fair winds and following seas.

Bobby, Sinead and Ronan - Dublin, Ireland

Thank B0bbyC0llins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

It was so nice to read this review. We really enjoyed meeting you and being your choice for a great way to spend a family get-together. What a beautiful day we had! and the weather certainly co-operated. Best of luck to all three of you, we always enjoy sending the day listening to those lilting Irish accents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

A day on The Phantom is a must do when visiting the magnificent Bay of Islands. We cannot recommend this trip highly enough. Thank you Rob & Rick for an experience which was intimate, personalised, relaxing, exciting & professional. Lunch - yum! Thank Rob for including home made gluten free cookies for me. Our day on the Bay on The Phantom has certainly been the highlight of our New Zealand holiday - now home and back to the frenetic pace of work it is our day on The Phantom that we take ourselves to when we feel stressed, with calming results. Mark & Lee

Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

It was fantastic having you on board, meeting you and enjoying some great conversation - there always seem to be some common threads. So glad to hear that the day on Phantom gave you the relaxation you needed as I remember that you both had very busy lives. Hope to see you again - Australia is so close! Thank you for writing this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I'm a lifelong sailor, owner of my own sailboat in Maine, and so a bit leery of what I call "dude yaching." But this was one of the best sailing experiences I've ever had. Rick and Robin are true professionals, with a lifetime of sailing experience, friendly and willing to share their considerable knowledge, as well as give everyone, including non-sailors, a great day. With perfect weather and wind, experiencing the Bay of Islands from a sailboat is amazing. We anchored for lunch at a secluded bay on an island, swam, took a short hike and enjoyed Robin's delicious lunch. Phantom is the perfect yacht to be on to experience this great sailing area. No motoring, no gimmicks, just pure, delightful sailing,

Thank BostonHistorybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Wow! Great words to read! It was very interesting to share sailing stories and reminisce about trips to New England and see how much you enjoyed your afternoon at the helm. We love Phantom and being at the helm so can appreciated another sailor's smile just string the boat - you had a big grin! Thanks so much for coming aboard!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Our party of 6 had a wonderful day of sailing aboard the 50' Phantom sailboat with Rick and Robin hosting us. We sailed around the Bay of Islands to a sand beach. Wonderful lunch of frittata, bread with cheese and chutney, and fruit. Very personable hosts with lots of time to just relax and enjoy nature and conversation.

Thank Doreen L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin B, Owner at Phantom Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you, Doreen, for your kind words. It was a pleasure to meet the family and really enjoyed getting to know you and the family, if only for a short period. Our jobs allow us to meet some very interesting people and share all of our stories - and how blessed we are. Thank you for coming aboard!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phantom Sailing also viewed

Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Phantom Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing