We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely sunsets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely sunsets”
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Until we arrived at the quayside we hadn't realised that reaching this campsite would require a ferry crossing ($18.50 for our motorvan as it was over 3m high). Somehow we missed the signpost for the road access, but the guidebook says that it's 'easily missed' so we aren't the only ones!

The staff member at Reception was extremely helpful and phoned another Top 10 site for us to rearrange a different booking. Despite other people arriving at Reception she carefully went through the site details with us and made sure we had all the information we needed.

We were directed to one of the 'nice' pitches at the top of the site, for which I suspect we paid extra as this was the most expensive of all the Top 10 sites we stayed at in the whole of NZ. On studying the site plan later there appeared to be other powered pitches in the camping field at the bottom of the site but we were not offered one of those - I suspect they may have been cheaper. The motorvan pitches at the top of the site are ok if people park as directed, but on the last night of our stay two motor vans parked at right angles to the correct alignment which meant that the one in the pitch closest to us was less than one metre from our motorvan - uncomfortably and unnecessarily close.

The views to the sea from the top area, the kitchens and BBQ area are delightful and the sunsets are quite remarkable.

This is a lovely site and I would be happy to stay here again, but I would recommend avoiding Saturday nights in the summer as the site is less than a ten minute walk to town and Russell is becoming (so I was told by locals) increasingly popular as a wedding venue. On the Saturday night we stayed in Russell there were two wedding receptions taking place, a birthday party and live music at the pub - all of which were noisy and continued until 1a.m. This is not something the campsite staff can control, but is something to bear in mind if you prefer quiet when falling asleep at night.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireSue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations on the Saturday night you stayed with us. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues with the vans parked next to your site that were encroaching on your space and privacy. If we had known we would have dealt with this issue immediately to rectify the situation. Regarding the sites on the lower field we are confident that we offer all guests the choice of a deluxe powered site with views or a standard powered site on the lower field at check in. The price difference is minimal ($3.60 difference per night for a TOP 10 Club Member). We would have gladly refunded the difference if you wished to move to the standard sites on the lower field after checking in, if we had been made aware. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and this can only be achieved through good communication so any issues you are experiencing can be dealt with at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    56
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
78
115
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We had a brilliant time,due to a slight accident in the kitchen my wife got her arm burnt but the staff were fantastic and dealt with it admirably.Thank god for aloe vera.They helped us with trips and were so very friendly(almost family)The showers were only 50 cents and NOT $2 as reported before.Infact it was so good we went back for a second time before returning to uk

Room Tip: if you are in a campervan pay to go uptop,the view is brilliant(so are the ducks,seagulls and wekka)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carboncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The premium camper spots are great. Good facilities for campers. The down side is they charge $2 for showers and its a bit of a pain to need to find $2 coins. The wifi works poorly in the better spots farther away from the lower camp. It is also full of tourists - we had a group of Chinese in tents who continuously crowded the facilities, left the kitchens dirty and smelled up the place with their Chinese cooking. Russell itself is beautiful but no reason to stay overnight if their are other camp sites in the region.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that over January our Park was experiencing technical issues with one of our internet providers and we have since rectified the situation. We are sorry to hear that this impacted on your stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Regarding the showers we would like to clarify that our showers operate with a 50 cent coin for 6 minutes, not $2 coins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a really busy time, and the campground was humming. It had a good feel to the place and the facilities were good. We were in cabins, but not all cabins have kitchen facilities, so be sure to ask for them. They were small but functional, beds were ok, but fridge didn't work.
Unfortunately a couple of the staff seemed to be struggling to cope with the pressure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markogilvienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

The staff at this park were wonderful. When we booked online they sent us a welcoming message and made sure we were aware of the different options of getting to the park (including the much shorter ferry service). They allowed us to change sites for our motorhome. The facilities are lovely and clean and there is an excellent view from the kitchen and lounge area. We went for a late night walk and came back and spoke to the very friendly owners they were up late waiting for some late arrivals. How friendly is that. We would definitely recommend this park to Bay of Island visitors.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WhitsundayMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed here after Xmas and pleased with facilities, albeit a bit costly, but our stay was ruined by others. Security tried to tell people to be quiet but noisy into early hours of morning. Unfortunately wouldn't stay again as the plan was for tramping and just too tired the next day. Maybe just the time of year and not the camp site's fault but impacted on our holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlsgAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Although the weather turned on us, we have been loving our kiwi Christmas escape to Russell. Budget restricted us to holidaying in the van, but it really does bring the family closer together. Despite the weather, the staff are always full of cheer and recommended activities for the kids and us alike. Highest praise. We are already planning a return in the next school hols.

Room Tip: Book early, they are the most popular camp ground in the area. Get the Top10 card as you get really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#1 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#5 of 30 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 1 James Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is the only Holiday Park centrally located in the historic township of Russell. Our park is suited to families, couples, walkers and well supervised groups who enjoy the natural unspoilt beauty of the area. With a Qualmark 4 star plus rating we offer a fantastic range of accommodation from self-contained villas with sea views, basic cabins, family friendly accommodation, powered and non-powered sites all within easy walking distance to cruise departure points, beaches, cafes/restaurants, heritage buildings and historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing