We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Power, No Refund!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Nadi Fiji
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No Power, No Refund!”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We attempoeted to stay at this camper van park. all other Top 10 sites had been excellent. Russell was the most expensive at well over $60pn and they had the nerve to then charge extra for hot showers. The problem was though that the area had a power cut. the park obviously had no back up generator as it should and no one came to help the clients who were left totally in the dark without facilities. We moved to another site in Opua.The next day I asked for a refund (or at least a free night), the owner promised to get back to me but of course didnt!
This is the only real bad experience we had of Top 10, which I would highly recommend but..dont stay in this one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StyleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for any inconvenience caused as a result of the unscheduled power outage that affected the whole of the Russell township and surrounding areas.
The enjoyment of our guests stay is paramount to us and when the power went out unexpectedly on 16th April we did a walk around the Park, checking on guests and offering torches or assistance, if required.
Once again, we are sorry to hear your stay with us did not live up to expectations as a result of situation that was outside of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    56
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
79
115
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a very good campsite in the middle of Russel. It's very quiet and clean. We were on the lower field so didn't get the views the others had but it didn't matter too much.

The seagulls are a bit of a plague here and trying to cook or eat outside is difficult. If you leave your food while it's cooking even for a second the seagulls will get it. They are also very brave and will land on your table while you try to eat. I'm not sure what the owners can do about this, but it was the only campsite where we experienced this problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

We stayed as a family with a 4 year old and 8 year old and had a wonderful time.

We were given a unit which had visiting Weka's at the deck. A real treat for the girls. They'd never seen them before and the birds have such a curious and sweet temperament. The birds are also friendly, quiet and didn't poop around the unit for those worried about such matters!

Amazing sun-sets, a great playground, friendly staff (reception and cleaning), comfortable beds, nice and hot water in showers, quiet, easy walking distant to the village and excellent information on arrival- a throughly enjoyable place to stay at.

Unlike many places where you stay that has a "kitchen", it was well very stocked with all the utensils you need (including sharp kitchen knives and a sharpen, a pet hate of mine when there are none) and although it had no oven, there were more than one oven in the shared kitchen and we didn't suffer for it as there was a generous electric frying pan in the unit.

We were very happy with our stay and would very definitely list any complaints if we had any.

Room Tip: The higher up the rise the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013 via mobile

Until we arrived at the quayside we hadn't realised that reaching this campsite would require a ferry crossing ($18.50 for our motorvan as it was over 3m high). Somehow we missed the signpost for the road access, but the guidebook says that it's 'easily missed' so we aren't the only ones!

The staff member at Reception was extremely helpful and phoned another Top 10 site for us to rearrange a different booking. Despite other people arriving at Reception she carefully went through the site details with us and made sure we had all the information we needed.

We were directed to one of the 'nice' pitches at the top of the site, for which I suspect we paid extra as this was the most expensive of all the Top 10 sites we stayed at in the whole of NZ. On studying the site plan later there appeared to be other powered pitches in the camping field at the bottom of the site but we were not offered one of those - I suspect they may have been cheaper. The motorvan pitches at the top of the site are ok if people park as directed, but on the last night of our stay two motor vans parked at right angles to the correct alignment which meant that the one in the pitch closest to us was less than one metre from our motorvan - uncomfortably and unnecessarily close.

The views to the sea from the top area, the kitchens and BBQ area are delightful and the sunsets are quite remarkable.

This is a lovely site and I would be happy to stay here again, but I would recommend avoiding Saturday nights in the summer as the site is less than a ten minute walk to town and Russell is becoming (so I was told by locals) increasingly popular as a wedding venue. On the Saturday night we stayed in Russell there were two wedding receptions taking place, a birthday party and live music at the pub - all of which were noisy and continued until 1a.m. This is not something the campsite staff can control, but is something to bear in mind if you prefer quiet when falling asleep at night.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireSue85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
Thank you for you feedback. We are sorry to hear that the enjoyment of your stay did not live up to your expectations on the Saturday night you stayed with us. Unfortunately, we were not made aware that you were experiencing issues with the vans parked next to your site that were encroaching on your space and privacy. If we had known we would have dealt with this issue immediately to rectify the situation. Regarding the sites on the lower field we are confident that we offer all guests the choice of a deluxe powered site with views or a standard powered site on the lower field at check in. The price difference is minimal ($3.60 difference per night for a TOP 10 Club Member). We would have gladly refunded the difference if you wished to move to the standard sites on the lower field after checking in, if we had been made aware. The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and this can only be achieved through good communication so any issues you are experiencing can be dealt with at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We had a brilliant time,due to a slight accident in the kitchen my wife got her arm burnt but the staff were fantastic and dealt with it admirably.Thank god for aloe vera.They helped us with trips and were so very friendly(almost family)The showers were only 50 cents and NOT $2 as reported before.Infact it was so good we went back for a second time before returning to uk

Room Tip: if you are in a campervan pay to go uptop,the view is brilliant(so are the ducks,seagulls and wekka)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carboncook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

The premium camper spots are great. Good facilities for campers. The down side is they charge $2 for showers and its a bit of a pain to need to find $2 coins. The wifi works poorly in the better spots farther away from the lower camp. It is also full of tourists - we had a group of Chinese in tents who continuously crowded the facilities, left the kitchens dirty and smelled up the place with their Chinese cooking. Russell itself is beautiful but no reason to stay overnight if their are other camp sites in the region.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RT1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge that over January our Park was experiencing technical issues with one of our internet providers and we have since rectified the situation. We are sorry to hear that this impacted on your stay with us and apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. Regarding the showers we would like to clarify that our showers operate with a 50 cent coin for 6 minutes, not $2 coins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed at a really busy time, and the campground was humming. It had a good feel to the place and the facilities were good. We were in cabins, but not all cabins have kitchen facilities, so be sure to ask for them. They were small but functional, beds were ok, but fridge didn't work.
Unfortunately a couple of the staff seemed to be struggling to cope with the pressure.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markogilvienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
279 reviews
2.0 mi away
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#4 of 30 in Paihia
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 1 James Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is the only Holiday Park centrally located in the historic township of Russell. Our park is suited to families, couples, walkers and well supervised groups who enjoy the natural unspoilt beauty of the area. With a Qualmark 4 star plus rating we offer a fantastic range of accommodation from self-contained villas with sea views, basic cabins, family friendly accommodation, powered and non-powered sites all within easy walking distance to cruise departure points, beaches, cafes/restaurants, heritage buildings and historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing