We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best on Tour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney - Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best on Tour”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a powered site with our 7M Campervan in a recent north island lap, and I agree with other reviewers that it's the best park we stayed at. Gardens beautiful, great layout, kitchen and bbqs excellent and toilets/showers pretty good. All that with a fabulous view back over the bay. Perhaps the kids playground the only thing that needs a little attention. Overall, outstanding, thank you.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank ARReynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank your for taking the time to provide such positive feedback. We were so pleased to hear that your stay with us lived up to your expectations and that you considered our Park to be the best during your tour of the North Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    56
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
78
115
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

In a recent NZ holiday we stayed in 14 Top 10 parks, this has to be the best we stayed in!! Friendly service, clean modern cabins with a view which was just stunning. We stayed in a motel unit and were very impressed. Unfortunately we arrived late and left early, so couldn't make the most of the accommodation, but now we know how good it was we'll stay longer next time. If there was any negative it would have to be that there was only 1 heater in a 2 bedroom unit. Other than that, it was just perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Thank you for the wonderful feedback. We were pleased to hear your stay with us lived up to your expectations and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fox Glacier
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

The best view from a holiday park we have seen so far from the sunset powered sites. A little dubious about the 50c for the shower but for great pressure and hot water on a chilly morning it was well worth it!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sunsetmotellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your great feedback.
Like you, many of our visitors enjoy the views and sunsets from our Deluxe Powered Sites. We we were pleased to hear you did too!!
It was also great to hear your positive feedback regarding our showers.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback. We hope to see you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I stayed in a campervan on the low field. You have to pay extra for the top level. But it was much quieter where I was so I was happy. Very good value at $18 a night. Good kitchen facilities - no cooking utensils, only chopping boards, but it was very clean. Also a good sized indoor eating area. Very difficult to watch the TV though when other people are chatting. Showers are paid for with 50 cent pieces for six minutes. They are daft - had these elsewhere - the coin box is on the outside of the shower which is OK if you only need six minutes. If you need to wash your hair etc you have to come out naked and wet to put more money in and hope no one is out side!
The owner is very friendly. Comes round to chat and invited me into his home for tea one morning. His wife is also very friendly as was the other lady who booked me in. Very helpful, checked weather conditions regularly for me and called the dolphin tour company to check what the best day for the trip would be.
I ended up staying an extra night. Russell is also a lovely little town, though very quiet in the evenings at this time of year with very few restaurants open.
But it has probably been my favourite site and place so far in my almost two months of traveling in NZ

Room Tip: Better views on top level, but lower field was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We were very pleased to hear your stay with us in Russell was your favourite during your two month stay in New Zealand.
The enjoyment of your stay is paramount to us and we were sorry to hear you were inconvenienced by having no cooking utensils available in the communal kitchen. Therefore, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that we do have cooking utensils, pots, pans, etc available at reception, at no charge, if required. Unfortunately, we no longer keep cooking utensils in the communal kitchen area as they tend to disappear. Just ask at reception and we would be happy to assist.
Once again, thank you for your feedback. We enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Having paid extra for a deluxe powered camper van site we found the pitch extremely cramped, but we did have a good view.
We could imagine some drivers having problems getting onto their pitch, and conversations from several too close neighbours heard continually. Showers and toilets all excellent, but steps down to them were slippery after rain. The cooking facilities were electric radiant cooking rings which took ages to heat sufficiently. Lovely site but we thought not good value. We stayed here for three nights .

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fogeybus N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi Fiji
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We attempoeted to stay at this camper van park. all other Top 10 sites had been excellent. Russell was the most expensive at well over $60pn and they had the nerve to then charge extra for hot showers. The problem was though that the area had a power cut. the park obviously had no back up generator as it should and no one came to help the clients who were left totally in the dark without facilities. We moved to another site in Opua.The next day I asked for a refund (or at least a free night), the owner promised to get back to me but of course didnt!
This is the only real bad experience we had of Top 10, which I would highly recommend but..dont stay in this one!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StyleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for any inconvenience caused as a result of the unscheduled power outage that affected the whole of the Russell township and surrounding areas.
The enjoyment of our guests stay is paramount to us and when the power went out unexpectedly on 16th April we did a walk around the Park, checking on guests and offering torches or assistance, if required.
Once again, we are sorry to hear your stay with us did not live up to expectations as a result of situation that was outside of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
379 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a very good campsite in the middle of Russel. It's very quiet and clean. We were on the lower field so didn't get the views the others had but it didn't matter too much.

The seagulls are a bit of a plague here and trying to cook or eat outside is difficult. If you leave your food while it's cooking even for a second the seagulls will get it. They are also very brave and will land on your table while you try to eat. I'm not sure what the owners can do about this, but it was the only campsite where we experienced this problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNutBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#5 of 30 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 1 James Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is the only Holiday Park centrally located in the historic township of Russell. Our park is suited to families, couples, walkers and well supervised groups who enjoy the natural unspoilt beauty of the area. With a Qualmark 4 star plus rating we offer a fantastic range of accommodation from self-contained villas with sea views, basic cabins, family friendly accommodation, powered and non-powered sites all within easy walking distance to cruise departure points, beaches, cafes/restaurants, heritage buildings and historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing