We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overwhelmed with the friendliness” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed with the friendliness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

On our arrival we were greeted by Alan (parks owner) who had some apprehension initially as we were on motorcycles and he had poor experiences previously with groups of riders. However after a brief chat and putting his mind at ease he was without doubt the star host of our two+ week ride (we stayed 2 nights there) he and his staff were the consummate hosts offering us the best (and beyond our expectations) we could have hoped for whilst staying there.
Everything was clean well kept and regularly checked (we had a small issue with the television reception however this was beyond their control)
The Weka's and other birds walked around in the camp and the setting was awesome

Room Tip: Pay the small amount extra and get a room with an ensuite and a view - very worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Hi DJ

Thanks for the fantastic feedback and 'hot tip'.

We were so pleased to hear that the service you received during your stay went beyond your expectations.

We have since fixed the issue with the TV and apologise for any inconvenience caused at the time.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    49
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
104
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely laid back and quaint Russell offered us this Top 10 holiday park where we stayed for 4 nights. It is in the prettiest of settings, and beautifully looked after. Our hosts Bonnie and Alan were always so helpful and we appreciated Alan taking us on a tour of the site and sharing his knowledge of the country and environment , a really relaxing and delightful place to stay, thanks.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charm790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you taking the time to provide such wonderful feedback.

It was great to hear that you had a relaxing stay at our park and enjoyed the peaceful, park-like surroundings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenants Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our new two bedroom motel unit had an absolutely fabulous view from the veranda. The unit was well equipped and immaculately clean. The park was one of the most beautifully landscaped and maintained of the several we stayed in. Located within a short walk of Russell, a charming historical town and also within walking distance of Flagstaff Hill preserve with beautiful vistas from the top.

Room Tip: Two Bedroom Unit #23 - new with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi John

Thank you for the fantastic feedback and 'hot tip'.

We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Motel unit, #M23 along with our park-like surroundings.

Like you, many of our guests enjoy our convenient location to the historic Russell township, the Flagstaff Historic Reserve and the Russell Wharf for cruise departures.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope to have you stay with us another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in a one bedroom flat and paid a small price for million dollar views. We loved our stay and felt totally relaxed listening to the cicadas and birds with visits from our native weka.
I loved the fact that we couldn't hear boy-racers, trucks, trains and not many cars.
I definitely will want to come back and highly recommend this accommodation.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melinda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful, park-like surroundings of our holiday park, along with the stunning sea views from your unit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This Top Ten was one of the best we have stayed in while we toured the two Islands. All the facilities were very clean and the grounds were beautiful. We stayed in a standard cabin and enjoyed sitting outside, at the picnic table, and looking over the Village and the water. We enjoyed being able to just park our car and walk to everything we wanted to see and do. The beautiful beach was just a short walk away and all the shops, coffee houses, and restaurants were also a short walk away. In the evening we loved walking to the harbour and seeing all the tour boats and ships coming in. It was a peaceful and restful place to stay. We hope to return again, but will plan to stay longer and bring our grandsons the next time we visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Village_traveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for the wonderful feedback.

It was lovely to hear that you considered our park to be like 'paradise' and one of the best TOP 10 Holiday Parks during your stay in New Zealand.

We look forward to having you stay with us again with your grandsons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I had a great time staying here while in Russell. The site is well protected from the wind, facilities are a short enough walk within the site a quick stroll will get you into russell in two minutes. It cost a little more then I was used for a site and the 50c showers were a hassle but by in large a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
It is always wonderful to receive such positive feedback. Thank you.

We were pleased to hear that you enjoyed the situation and convenience of our Holiday Park.

Unfortunately Russell does not have a mains water supply, so we are reliant on drawing water from the local water table. Therefore, water is extremely precious and water consumption is closely monitored to work within local council resource consent requirements. Having metered showers is one way we can control water consumption and create an awareness of water consumption. We appreciate your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We've stayed here in every type of accommodation, from campervan site, cabins, and on "the field" in powered and unpowered sites, and its a great place.
Location is excellent, a few minutes stroll to town, and on the way to Long Beach.
The facilities are fine, maybe a bit tired, but all functional and plenty of them.
Kids play park is a winner, and in summer months, kids all just hang out here.
Staff are friendly and take no crap - parties or noisy groups will be shut down quickly. Come 10:30pm, you can lie in your bed/tent and listen to the kiwis and owls.
Highly recommend. The membership is also worth getting. $50 for 2 years, offering a discount on accommodation but also on most of the eateries and things to do in the area means it pretty much pays itself in a single visit.

Room Tip: If camping, pay the extra couple of bucks for a powered site and they will give you the power cable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such positive feedback.

It was great to hear that you consider our Park to be the best family place to stay in Russell and that you understand and appreciate the benefits of our 'no noise' policy from 10:30pm.

We also appreciate your loyalty to our Park and recommendation of the TOP 10 Club. It was wonderful to hear that the membership paid for itself during your stay with us.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
2.0 mi away
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Beachside Holiday Park
Beachside Holiday Park
#5 of 29 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.0 mi away
Waitangi Holiday Park
Waitangi Holiday Park
#9 of 203 in Northland Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Property: Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Address: 1 James Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is the only Holiday Park centrally located in the historic township of Russell. Our park is suited to families, couples, walkers and well supervised groups who enjoy the natural unspoilt beauty of the area. With a Qualmark 4 star plus rating we offer a fantastic range of accommodation from self-contained villas with sea views, basic cabins, family friendly accommodation, powered and non-powered sites all within easy walking distance to cruise departure points, beaches, cafes/restaurants, heritage buildings and historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing