We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We parked our motor home he for 2 nights as the view was divine and the little town very picturesque, even in winter. The staff are friendly and accommodating and as we had our pick of sites we went with one that looked out over the town and the water to the coast on the other side. The facilities are very good.

Room Tip: Go high to get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi Rosemary

Thank you for the wonderful review. We were so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in beautiful Russell.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

This park was well suited for our MotorHome. It is up the hill behind Russell’s village, but only a short walk to the village. It is also about a 1 km walk over a hill to the ocean beach (Long Beach). We took one of the sites with a view which also have the benefit of being closer to the amenities. The staff were very helpful and assisted arrange a boat cruise around the Bay of Islands. The grounds are well laid out and well cared for on the side of a slight hill.

The amenities were at the better end of quality for MotorHome parks and very clean. They have a system where you pay for the hot water in the shower. The lady at the front desk explained this to us when we checked in. It has something to do with constraining water usage as they use more than their water allocation in a town where water supply is limited. It sure focused our time in the shower; imagine finishing off with only cold water with 10C outside. I imagine some may complain about this but it was a trivial "price to pay” and enabled us to stay in this beautiful town, so be it.

Recommended if you want to stay in Russell in a MotorHome.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vannofavalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a comprehensive and positive review of our Holiday Park. It was great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our Holiday Park and found our location convenient.

We really appreciate your understanding regarding the showers and water conservation. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed two nights (7-8 May) in this very pretty park and soaked-up the glorious views over the town of Russell and the waters of the Bay of Islands right from the rear windows of our motorhome. We were given a very friendly welcome by owner Bonnie, who also willingly helped us to relocate to an even better site for our second night.
It is a short easy 3-minute walk to Russell township which entranced us with its gorgeous historic buildings and beautifully-maintained old houses. We enjoyed some meals at different eateries right on the water's edge, and took the ferry-ride across the bay to Paihia and the Waitangi Treaty Grounds.
The Russell Top Ten Holiday Park has beautiful gardens and manicured lawns, and the facilities are top-notch and are as clean as you can get.
We'll certainly be back!

Room Tip: We chose a premium power-site to have the views over the town and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne_Anica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Laurie and Anne

Thank you for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review. We enjoyed having you stay with us too.

It was great to hear that you enjoyed our park-like surroundings and considered our facilities to be top notch, in a top location.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Stayed here two nights in our campervans. What a beautiful Holiday Park. We were offered and accepted a couple of spots on the hill overlooking Russell and the bay. Most of the amenities were all very good with the exception of the BBQs that were a little bit so so as they didn't have knobs or automatic lighters. Take matches.The place is within easy walking distance of the bay, harbour and restaurants. The lady running the park was an absolute delight to deal with and assisted us with our boat booking and provided all the information we required about the area. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a campervan spot on the hill. A couple of $'s extra but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terrytooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review and 'hot tip'. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay on the Deluxe Powered Sites.

Regarding the BBQ's, unfortunately the knobs keep disappearing on our BBQ's and all attempts to keep them attached have failed. We also have matches available at reception if you are having difficulty lighting the BBQ's. The staff at reception are always happy to help.

Thanks again for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Russell Top 10 Holiday Park is located at walking distance from the Victorian style town centre. To the north Oneroa Bay beach also is at walking distance.

The park offers cabins, studio units and powered & unpowered sites. We had a powered site. Staffs were friendly and correct. The spacious park is nice and quiet. We had a powered site.

Facilities encompass free showers, a shared kitchen facility, dining area, playground, TV room, BBQ and laundry. All was clean and well maintained. The communal toilets and showers were spotless. Wi-Fi internet is extra.

The park apparently is a popular holiday destination. As it was off-season we saw few other camper-vans in the park. In summer it must be a crowded place.

Considering its nice location we found Russell Top 10 Holiday Park acceptably priced for the good quality offered.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide a comprehensive review of our Holiday Park, It was great to hear that you considered our Park to be spacious, clean and quiet.

Regarding the showers, we would just like to clarify that the showers operate with -50c coins for 6 minutes of hot water to assist with water conservation as we have no mains water supply.

Once again, thank you for your positive review and recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We found it a great place to stay, especially overlooking the harbour from the "penthouse". You may actually come across some Wekas looking for a hand-out Not only that Russell should be on everyone's "bucket list" and go across to Waitangi for an unbelievable visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itchy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

It was wonderful to hear that you considered our Park to be a 'Top Place' to stay in Russell.

Thank you for the great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

What a lovely place. The cabin we had was beautifully clean, had fantastic views, and was very good value. We stayed in quite a few top ten sites while touring N.Z.. This was one of the best.
Also very helpful receptionist, nothing was too much trouble.

Excellent stay, would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a pent house one. Views are magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonyface, Owner at Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Diane

Thank you for the fantastic review, hot tip and recommending our Park to others.

It was wonderful to hear you considered our Park to be the best TOP 10 Holiday Park you had stayed in. We enjoyed having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.0 mi away
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park
3.2 mi away
Paihia TOP 10
Paihia TOP 10
#5 of 31 in Paihia
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
213 reviews
2.5 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park

Address: 1 James Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range: £48 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park is the only Holiday Park centrally located in the historic township of Russell. Our park is suited to families, couples, walkers and well supervised groups who enjoy the natural unspoilt beauty of the area. With a Qualmark 4 star plus rating we offer a fantastic range of accommodation from self-contained villas with sea views, basic cabins, family friendly accommodation, powered and non-powered sites all within easy walking distance to cruise departure points, beaches, cafes/restaurants, heritage buildings and historic sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing