We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enraptured in Russell” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bellrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Enraptured in Russell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Bellrock Lodge is a true star. Great location within easy walking distance of the centre and beaches; luxuriously appointed rooms with stunning views; and amazing hosts. Peter and Lorraine are warmly welcoming and cannot do enough for you. There are the delightful drinks and nibbles, mentioned by others; they will make bookings for you for activities; lend you their Sat Nav and they even provided a camera memory card when mine ran out. They have this hosting stuff down to a fine art. Its a bit more expensive than some B and Bs we stayed at on our trip, particularly as breakfast is not included in the room price, but it won't stop us going back!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Your title "Enraptured in Russell" is great because it shows that you were happy not just with Bellrock but with Russell as a whole. Not many people realise how facinating Russell is and that they can be kept busy here for a number of days as your were on your 4 day stay. You made great use of the activities available from Russell - even sharing your catch with us. Glad to hear that you would like to visit us again, as we love talking to guests who have been to and loved our birth country South Africa. You mentioned that our rates were a bit steep (especially concidering the fact that the rates do not included breakfast)- so we would like to say a few words on this topic. We do not like to compare Bellrock with the other B & B's in Russell, as each one has something unique and special about it. However we are $400 per day cheaper than the other 5 Star B & B in Russell, and cheaper than some 4 Star B & B's here. When we first started out, breakfast was included in our rates, but at the request of a number of guests who only have a slice or two of toast normally and found our breakfast far to substantial, we decided to give our guests the option of our breakfasts or making their own in their fully equipped kitchenetts in their units. The fact that you mentioned you would like to stay here again, is a great compliment - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
247
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had a delightful stay at Beltock Lodge,. the accommodation was very comfortable and we enjoyed the lovely view from the balcony. Our hosts made us feel very welcome and kindly sent on some beads I had left behind. This was our our first visit to New Zealand and our stay in Russell was one of the highlights

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlerrwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poway, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We toured the North North section of New Zealand for a month, staying at B & B's along the way. Bellrock Lodge was one of the greatest Lodge's that we found. We stayed 2 nights and were welcomed by Lorraine so dearly, she hosted a cocktail hour with oysters and drinks for all the guests that weekend. Bellrock Lodge offers a shared living room for guests to relax and mingle. The accommodations were fantastic with modern top quality kitchen & bath features yet appointed with items from Lorraine's travel. From our balcony we had endless views of the city & Bay. This is a must if you are staying in Russell. Leigh & John from Poway, California

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 29 March 2013
Dear John and Leigh, Thank you very much for your great review, thank you also for bringing a plate of eats for all the guest to share. Hope your future plans for two months on South Island all come together nicely. Just sorry that Peter was away and not able to meet the two of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanmore Bay, null, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed for one night while on honeymoon. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room. It had everything that we needed and more! We even had the luxury of having the whole guest lounge to ourselves to watch a sports event we had wanted to see! Hosts were very accommodating and friendly. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ange R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always pleased when guests make use of the facilities we have for them. Looking forward to your return visit. We both wish you a long and happy life together.
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, Northland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

I had a great nights stay at Bellrock Lodge. I had an excellently appointed room, fantastic kitchenette which I used and found everything I needed . The room was very peaceful, the lounge chairs very comfortable. Bellrock Lodge was close to the main hub Russell which was great because I was on foot & bike. I had a great view of the bay from the private deck.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
We are glad you could make good use of our kitchen facilities and hope that you had a comfortable nights sleep after a hard days cycling. Hope the rain did not last long on the last leg of your race to Whangarei. Hope to see you again next year if you do the cycle race again. Remember to let us know that you need a single suppliment rate next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at Bell Rock for three nights in February. Peter and Lorraine met us at the airport and drove us to the B&B (with an impromptu stop at a local chocolate factory on the way). The room was immaculate and very comfortable - even chairs with a footstool for each of us. It's obvious that a lot of thought has gone into all the little touches. The far wall was a three-paneled glass door opening onto the balcony, with a view overlooking the bay. Absolutely beautiful, especially in the warm February weather in NZ. The breakfasts are wonderful, cooked to order so you can decide what you feel like from their menu.
I can't say enough about Peter and Lorraine. My husband isn't able to get around as well as he used to, and they drove into Russell to pick us up from dinners, and Peter gave us a short tour of the area one morning we were there. He also drove us over to Paihia when we missed the ferry due to a mix-up about times, so that we wouldn't miss our tour to Cape Reinga. We genuinely felt we were leaving friends behind when we headed off to Wellington.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandainVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Thank you for the great review and for taking the time to post it, much appreciated. We certainly enjoyed your company and it was our pleasure to be of assistance. Hope your conferance in Wellington went well and that George was well taken care off and shown all the wonderfull sights in Wellington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
493 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 4 nights to chill out at the end of a long tour of South Island. Once you have navigated up the impossibly steep little drive to the B&B, the welcome and views are amazing. Our hosts could not have been more helpful or friendly. The room was extremely well equipped with stunning views across the bay. We were invited for drinks and nibbles on 2 nights. Advice on boat trips were very helpful and the bookings were made for us. Breakfasts were any combination of what you wanted. Dinners were in a variety of beach front restaurants, all of which were excellent. All together a genuine paradise and home from home. We were even given a farewell present. We could not praise or recommend this B&B more highly. Definitely the highlight of our NZ tour.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#2 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellrock Lodge

Property: Bellrock Lodge
Address: 22 Chapel Street, Russell 0201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellrock Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best views in Russell come to Bellrock Lodge. We are on the hill overlooking the bay and the lovely village of Russell. The village and wharf are only a 5 min stroll away. At Bellrock you will have luxury en-suite rooms with private entrance and French doors leading out of your room onto your private patio. Each room has: Freeview TV, DVD player, Radio/CD/iPod dock, air conditioner, fully equipped kitchenette and either twin beds (2 singles) or a super king. Guest lounge for the exclusive use of our guests has a well stocked bar and barbeque facilities on the adjoining patio. We have off street parking and laundry facilities. Please note our rates are "room rate only" A substantial breakfast is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellrock Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing