We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place to stay in Russell, New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bellrock Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bellrock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Russell, New Zealand”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently had the pleasure to stay at the Bellrock Lodge to attend a wedding in Russell, New Zealand. Our hosts Lorraine and Peter, could not have done more to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. They provided canapés and wonderful New Zealand wines of an evening in the travellers' lounge which was decked out in comfortable lounging chairs and couches. They provided a wealth of information on how to travel around Russell and surrounding areas and places of interest to visit. The room had exceptional views of the Bay of Islands and the gorgeous sailing vessels and was well-appointed with everything one could wish for in luxurious surroundings. The personal touches such as dressing gowns, lotions, leather chairs, information folder and many things too numerous to mention. It was easy to use the laundry facilities. We greatly enjoyed our stay at Bellrock Lodge because we were able to walk and drive to scenic destinations and eat the freshly caught produce available in Russell. We would certainly return to stay with Peter and Lorraine who treated us as friends and introduced us to travellers from various countries. Words cannot describe the beauty of the place which can be seen on the website.

Room Tip: There are only four deluxe rooms with superb views so all the rooms are equally delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I am most impressed, you have only been home a day or two and have posted this lovely review for us, thank you. Thank you also for bringing a plate of snacks as well as wine to our get-together with the other guests. We certainly hope that you will visit New Zealand again as it is just a hop away from Australia. Take care and our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
251
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Bellrock exceeded our expectations in every respect - room, breakfast, view and the hospitality of the hosts Lorraine and Peter. Good access to the village and beaches yet back from the shore and high up so quiet and with a fabulous outlook from the rooms. Excellent parking

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay and Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Kay and Brian, thank you for your great review. You are most generous because there was a little bit of a mix up, thank you for being so understanding. Enjoy your time in Australia before heading back to your other home in England. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 8 night stay in this exemplary place. Lorraine and Peter are wonderful hosts, generous with their hospitality and willing to go the extra mile.
The room was immaculate, thoughtfully equipped to the last detail and with a wonderful view across Russell from the private balcony. This provided us with the perfect ending to our NZ holiday. We could not recommend Bellrock Lodge highly enough.
Carole and David Harrison (February 2014)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
8 Nights always seems such a long time to have guests stay, but the time just flew and you kept very busy. Thank you for being such easy guests to please. We managed to trace the owner of the bracelet you found in the safe, she is most grateful, thank you. Thank you for taking the time to do the lovely review for us, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great location. Terrific views. Very very clean and comfortable. All you need is here to relax and enjoy yourself. Peter and Lorraine are great hosts. You could not fault Bellrock as a place to stay. A first choice for us to return to when we do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Our 4 night stay at the Bellrock was a lovely peaceful interlude at the end of our New Zealand trip. The room could not be improved upon, carefully appointed to the last detail and even including 2 comfortable leather armchairs. From the balcony there was an expansive view of the town of Russell and the bay beyond. Lorraine and Peter were gracious hosts, thoughtful, generous and interesting. Among our fondest memories of New Zealand will be our time at this lovely well-run property in charming Russell.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andersonps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Thank you P & A for your review. We certainly enjoyed your company and you were both such undemanding and easy guests that if there was a TripAdvisor review for guests we would give you 100%. We are sure that you had to rest for a few days once you got home because you were very busy exploring the lovely area we are blessed to live in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Peter and Lorraine are not only hosts, they treated us just like friends. We arrived late, Lorraine helped to make restautrant reservation for us. The waitress of the restaurant told us if it was not for Lorraine's call, they would had not wait for us. By the way, we love Sally's restaurant the most. Peter helped us to pay the toll fee through internet and carefully draw a roadmap for our trip to Waipoua Forest. Also thanks to Peter's recommendation, the Treaty Grounds and Dolphin Cruise were just amazing. We were invited by Peter and Lorraine for their snack and drinks, and introuced other guests. We've been enjoying the frestest oyster and smoked salmon as well as chatting with other guests. They are a lot more that we could not tell here. We were reluctant to leave such a lovely place, and we started to miss Peter and Lorraine immediatelly after we left Bellrock. Thank you our friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Jim, Evon and Joycie, thank you so much for your lovely review and for the wonderfull poem you wrote in our guest book. We will certainly remember you as well. We learnt such a lot about your country and your way of life. Thank you for offering to give us advise about what to see and do in China. We will contact you well before we plan our visit. What a happy and loving family you have, it was great getting to know you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Hosts couldn't have been more helpful or hospitable. Amazing views from large patio. Close to town and beach. Beautifully clean. Good facilities for cooking, even had a dishwasher! What more could you want!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynruth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mackie12, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Your address has confused me as to which Marilyn this is, but I am sure you are "Mal" and Doug. Not that that matters because your review is much appreciated and very important to us. If you are Mal, thank you for donating a few DVD's for our guests to enjoy. We also trust that you will be back home in time for the UK spring that you so love.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#1 of 20 in Russell
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellrock Lodge

Property: Bellrock Lodge
Address: 22 Chapel Street, Russell 0201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellrock Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best views in Russell come to Bellrock Lodge. We are on the hill overlooking the bay and the lovely village of Russell. The village and wharf are only a 5 min stroll away. At Bellrock you will have luxury en-suite rooms with private entrance and French doors leading out of your room onto your private patio. Each room has: Freeview TV, DVD player, Radio/CD/iPod dock, air conditioner, fully equipped kitchenette and either twin beds (2 singles) or a super king. Guest lounge for the exclusive use of our guests has a well stocked bar and barbeque facilities on the adjoining patio. We have off street parking and laundry facilities. Please note our rates are "room rate only" A substantial breakfast is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bellrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellrock Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing