We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Blast of a time at Bellrock Lodge” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellrock Lodge

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Bellrock Lodge
Ranked #1 of 21 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Blast of a time at Bellrock Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

What an absolutely lovely time we had. Russel in it self is one of the most beautiful places in New Zealand and we were so stoked to find the most gorgeous accommodation there for our 3 day trip. All the rooms have a spectacular vie over the little town and the bay and across the water to Paihi. Our hosts, Piet and Lorraine, were wonderful. They welcomed us with a "welcome drinks" but put on a spread that was enough for a meal. Wonderful hosts! Piet booked our trips for us and was ready with advice on weather, routes and what we would need. We really did not want to leave. It is rare that you find guesthouse hosts who you immediately want to have as friends.

The rooms are beautifully done, each with a lovely balcony with the view as described above. Rooms were immaculate - all through our stay. We slept with open curtains to be able to open our eyes in the morning to that view.

We will most certainly be back there....an absolute gem!

A tip to visitors. The graveyard at the Christ Church ( oldest church in NZ) in Russel is an absolute must visit....so much history. Thanks for the tip Piet!

Room Tip: All rooms are gorgeous. I wanted to rate everything above as excellent, but somehow I could not. Fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annelise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
248
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Bellrock Lodge where the luxurious rooms have full length glass doors which open onto your private patio; so you can luxuriate in the huge bed and drink in the view or sit on the patio gazing out over the bay whilst drinking some of the local wines. The rooms have every facility you could possibly need if you wish to self cater but Lorraine whips up a fantastic breakfast and the restaurants in Russell are superb. The experience of staying at Bellrock is made special by Peter and Lorraine the Hosts. They are welcoming,helpful, friendly and genuine people who go out of their way to ensure each guest has everything they could possibly need. I would recommend staying here to anyone looking for a chance to relax and soak up the sheer beauty of the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Annette, thank you for taking the time to post this great review. We certainly enjoyed your and Philip's company as well. It is the interesting guests we get that make running Bellrock Lodge so worthwhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

We had a 3 night stay here with our friends David and Diane and it was fabulous. Our expectations were exceeded in every respect from the wonderful hospitality, generosity and first rate equipment. Peter and Lorraine were super hosts and the rooms were very roomy and immaculately kept with nothing lacking. All rooms gave a great view of Russell Bay yet in a quiet idyllic setting. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are super so it does not matter where you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We recently had the pleasure to stay at the Bellrock Lodge to attend a wedding in Russell, New Zealand. Our hosts Lorraine and Peter, could not have done more to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. They provided canapés and wonderful New Zealand wines of an evening in the travellers' lounge which was decked out in comfortable lounging chairs and couches. They provided a wealth of information on how to travel around Russell and surrounding areas and places of interest to visit. The room had exceptional views of the Bay of Islands and the gorgeous sailing vessels and was well-appointed with everything one could wish for in luxurious surroundings. The personal touches such as dressing gowns, lotions, leather chairs, information folder and many things too numerous to mention. It was easy to use the laundry facilities. We greatly enjoyed our stay at Bellrock Lodge because we were able to walk and drive to scenic destinations and eat the freshly caught produce available in Russell. We would certainly return to stay with Peter and Lorraine who treated us as friends and introduced us to travellers from various countries. Words cannot describe the beauty of the place which can be seen on the website.

Room Tip: There are only four deluxe rooms with superb views so all the rooms are equally delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
I am most impressed, you have only been home a day or two and have posted this lovely review for us, thank you. Thank you also for bringing a plate of snacks as well as wine to our get-together with the other guests. We certainly hope that you will visit New Zealand again as it is just a hop away from Australia. Take care and our very best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Bellrock exceeded our expectations in every respect - room, breakfast, view and the hospitality of the hosts Lorraine and Peter. Good access to the village and beaches yet back from the shore and high up so quiet and with a fabulous outlook from the rooms. Excellent parking

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay and Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Kay and Brian, thank you for your great review. You are most generous because there was a little bit of a mix up, thank you for being so understanding. Enjoy your time in Australia before heading back to your other home in England. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 8 night stay in this exemplary place. Lorraine and Peter are wonderful hosts, generous with their hospitality and willing to go the extra mile.
The room was immaculate, thoughtfully equipped to the last detail and with a wonderful view across Russell from the private balcony. This provided us with the perfect ending to our NZ holiday. We could not recommend Bellrock Lodge highly enough.
Carole and David Harrison (February 2014)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackieblue, Owner at Bellrock Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
8 Nights always seems such a long time to have guests stay, but the time just flew and you kept very busy. Thank you for being such easy guests to please. We managed to trace the owner of the bracelet you found in the safe, she is most grateful, thank you. Thank you for taking the time to do the lovely review for us, it is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Great location. Terrific views. Very very clean and comfortable. All you need is here to relax and enjoy yourself. Peter and Lorraine are great hosts. You could not fault Bellrock as a place to stay. A first choice for us to return to when we do.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.4 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.4 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#2 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellrock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellrock Lodge

Property: Bellrock Lodge
Address: 22 Chapel Street, Russell 0201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bellrock Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For the best views in Russell come to Bellrock Lodge. We are on the hill overlooking the bay and the lovely village of Russell. The village and wharf are only a 5 min stroll away. At Bellrock you will have luxury en-suite rooms with private entrance and French doors leading out of your room onto your private patio. Each room has: Freeview TV, DVD player, Radio/CD/iPod dock, air conditioner, fully equipped kitchenette and either twin beds (2 singles) or a super king. Guest lounge for the exclusive use of our guests has a well stocked bar and barbeque facilities on the adjoining patio. We have off street parking and laundry facilities. Please note our rates are "room rate only" A substantial breakfast is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Bellrock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellrock Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing