We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting with generous hosts”
Review of Tiki Tiki Ora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tiki Tiki Ora
Ranked #3 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
197 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wonderful setting with generous hosts”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From their warm welcome, through to departure after a three night stay, our hosts were a source of bonhomie and helpful service & information to supplement their delightful property set in an exceptional location in an extraodinarily scenic part of New Zealand.
Restaurant bookings made. Knowledgeable advice on scenic & historical sites and tourist services available, directions and answers to any other enquiries, were all proffered with genuine enthusiasm, interest and empathy... and Good coffee at the generously laden breakfast table.
The accommodation was well appointed, though a TV and minibar in the room would have been appreciated. The bed linen was superb, and the paintings, artifacts and curios sourced on their own travels by the hosts Mark & Angelique added to the intimate 'welcome guests in our home' feel of Tiki Tiki Ora.

Room Tip: The guest rooms are at ground level with outdoor terrace seating & splendid views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
174
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at Tiki Tiki Ora for four nights on our six week trip to New Zealand. We have stayed in many luxury hotels. But this is luxury of a different kind - the luxury of meeting two very special people (Mark and Angelique) who take your into their hearts as well as their home. From the instant we arrived to the moment we left these two people, who I now think of as good friends, they could not do enough for us to make our stay with them as memorable as possible.

This is not "have a nice day" hospitality. Its an honest to goodness desire to get to know you as people and to enjoy your company as much as you do theres. We spent some lovely evenings sipping a glass of wine (or two) before heading off to eat in Russell. Our hosts were helpful without being intrusive in any way. What a lovely four days we had.

And of course the house is quite magnificent with spectacular views own to the Islands and a very high standard of comfort all round. Mark arranged a wonderful tour of the islands where we were lucky to to meet three sets of dolphins on Board the "Belfast" excellently skippered by Tim. (This can be booked at the end of the wharf in Russell and is also highly recommended.)

Room Tip: We liked the room we had which faced out towards the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank car_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We cannot fault the location or the property itself. The furnishings and artefacts from around the world are beautiful and the views are stunning. If you are people who want constant company or need lots of advice on what to do and where to go, this is the place for you. However if you prefer to be left alone to do your own thing, you will find the level of attention overwhelming. We also found that we could hear other guests talking and people moving about in the living areas above our room.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUCKLAND
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I and my fiancee came back to Tiki Tiki Ora after lovely stay in 2013. This time I proposed to my fiancee here. Thanks to Mark and Angeli who has done so much for me to make this very memorable. It was a lovely spot, stunning view and great hospitality. We will certainly bring family here in near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIDNWGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Mark and Angelique are superb hosts and a wonderful couple. We loved our week escape to the Bay of Islands and basing ourselves at Tiki Tiki Ora was the best decision ever.
The spotlessly clean and comfortable accomodation, complemented by stunning scenery and surrounds, and our hosts 'nothing is too much trouble' attitude, makes us long to go back.
If you get the chance to stay at Tiki Tiki Ora, plan to stop a few days if you can, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rens0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

AS has been stated earlier, Mark and Angelique's hospitality goes above and beyond. Despite us showing up a day late and leaving a day early, they insisted on only charging us for the nights we were actually there (despite our offers to the contrary).

They couldn't do enough for us and indeed were disappointed when we proved to be 'non-demanding guests' - i.e. not requiring breakfast etc..

As for the house itself, stunning views, gorgeous rooms, whisper-quiet location and five minute drive to all the key spots in Russell made it ideal.

I would thoroughly commend them to any looking for accommodation in the bay of islands.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DGC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Absolutely memorable 3 night stay for our first wedding anniversary.

Impeccable hosting from our newest of friends, Mark and Angelique. Comfortable, well appointed rooms, delicious daily breakfasts, served against a backdrop of the stunning views of The Bay of Islands, and of course the many hours of great conversation.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone that desires something very special.

Thank you, Jason and Vanessa.

Room Tip: All rooms looked equally appointed. I believe The Euro is slightly larger with the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonShepherdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Russell hotels
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
278 reviews
2.9 mi away
Eagles Nest
Eagles Nest
#2 of 14 in Russell
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
332 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ounuwhao Harding House
#5 of 20 in Russell
141 reviews
1.8 mi away
Arcadia Lodge
Arcadia Lodge
#1 of 20 in Russell
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Tiki Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Tiki Ora

Property: Tiki Tiki Ora
Address: 22 Lichen Grove | Orongo Bay, Russell 0272, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tiki Tiki Ora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiki Tiki Ora is an exclusive Bed and Breakfast located in the beautiful historic town of Russsell in New Zealands Bay Of Islands.We have 3 ensuite rooms all with private balconies with uninterrupted sea and mountain views. Come and enjoy our magnificent sunsets and spectacular night skies. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to Tiki Tiki Ora. Mark and Angelique Richards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tiki Tiki Ora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki Tiki Ora Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing