We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views to Die For”
Review of Tiki Tiki Ora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tiki Tiki Ora
Ranked #3 of 19 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Once again we returned to Tiki Tiki Ora. The best relaxing holiday you could wish for.
Great views from every room. wonderful breakfasts and amazing hosts who were happy to
advise us on the history of the lovely bay of islands. and join us for a few wines on their
lovely outdoor area which they call "The Temple" while we were able to watch the boats
sail by. Hopefully we will be able to return again, for another 'Get away from it all' sometime
soon

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha23002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 246 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

This is a very long overdue review! My husband and I stayed at Tiki Tiki Ora for a few nights back in early March for the end of our "babymoon". This was the last stop of our two week New Zealand trip. We loved the South Island, but didn't love the North Island....until we came to Tiki Tiki Ora. The home is stunning, clean, pristine, modern and warm. It's open and the views are incredible.

That said, what really makes this place are Mark and Angelique. It's like staying with a dear old friend. Their authenticity really comes through in what they do - they love entertaining, meeting new people, and are just generally very kind people. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy. We're normally "on the go" to an extreme and this place really allowed us to detox from our every day world. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat and hope you have the chance to stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NS228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by two amazing people in Mark and Angelique. The hospitality we received was beyond expectation and we instantly warmed to Mark's wicked sense of humour and couldn't have asked for a better finale to our honeymoon. From swapping stories on the balcony over wine to booking dinner reservations in the beautiful town of Russell, our hosts made our stay as memorable as can be. We are genuinely touched to have met these special people and can't wait to come back again. We have no hesitations in recommending Tiki Tiki Ora to anyone looking for a relaxing stay with a personal touch!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

First the location is great and the view to die for as you can see the countryside and sea from the premises. On top of this your have two great hosts who attend to your needs and a great bright room with an out door seating area. What more could you ask for?

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank atcmyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

From their warm welcome, through to departure after a three night stay, our hosts were a source of bonhomie and helpful service & information to supplement their delightful property set in an exceptional location in an extraodinarily scenic part of New Zealand.
Restaurant bookings made. Knowledgeable advice on scenic & historical sites and tourist services available, directions and answers to any other enquiries, were all proffered with genuine enthusiasm, interest and empathy... and Good coffee at the generously laden breakfast table.
The accommodation was well appointed, though a TV and minibar in the room would have been appreciated. The bed linen was superb, and the paintings, artifacts and curios sourced on their own travels by the hosts Mark & Angelique added to the intimate 'welcome guests in our home' feel of Tiki Tiki Ora.

Room Tip: The guest rooms are at ground level with outdoor terrace seating & splendid views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyDryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at Tiki Tiki Ora for four nights on our six week trip to New Zealand. We have stayed in many luxury hotels. But this is luxury of a different kind - the luxury of meeting two very special people (Mark and Angelique) who take your into their hearts as well as their home. From the instant we arrived to the moment we left these two people, who I now think of as good friends, they could not do enough for us to make our stay with them as memorable as possible.

This is not "have a nice day" hospitality. Its an honest to goodness desire to get to know you as people and to enjoy your company as much as you do theres. We spent some lovely evenings sipping a glass of wine (or two) before heading off to eat in Russell. Our hosts were helpful without being intrusive in any way. What a lovely four days we had.

And of course the house is quite magnificent with spectacular views own to the Islands and a very high standard of comfort all round. Mark arranged a wonderful tour of the islands where we were lucky to to meet three sets of dolphins on Board the "Belfast" excellently skippered by Tim. (This can be booked at the end of the wharf in Russell and is also highly recommended.)

Room Tip: We liked the room we had which faced out towards the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We cannot fault the location or the property itself. The furnishings and artefacts from around the world are beautiful and the views are stunning. If you are people who want constant company or need lots of advice on what to do and where to go, this is the place for you. However if you prefer to be left alone to do your own thing, you will find the level of attention overwhelming. We also found that we could hear other guests talking and people moving about in the living areas above our room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
2.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 19 in Russell
350 reviews
3.6 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiki Tiki Ora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiki Tiki Ora

Address: 22 Lichen Grove | Orongo Bay, Russell 0272, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: £191 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tiki Tiki Ora 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiki Tiki Ora is an exclusive Bed and Breakfast located in the beautiful historic town of Russsell in New Zealands Bay Of Islands.We have 3 ensuite rooms all with private balconies with uninterrupted sea and mountain views. Come and enjoy our magnificent sunsets and spectacular night skies. We look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you to Tiki Tiki Ora. Mark and Angelique Richards ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tiki Tiki Ora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiki Tiki Ora Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing