We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Meal, Great People!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diggers Restaurant

Diggers Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$17
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Come and enjoy relaxed dining in the warm, friendly environment of the local Russell RSA. We serve good, wholesome food at very reasonable prices. Dine in the Restaurant or outside in the covered courtyard. A childrens menu is available and there's even a toy box to keep the little ones amused too.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Meal, Great People!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

While on holiday in the Bay of Islands I went to dinner at the Diggers Restaurant RSA in Russell with my family. I was very impressed with the quality of food and the reasonable prices. The meals where large and delicious. I had the fried scallops and the lightly spiced calamari/squid which was beautiful and my family had the steak that was cooked to perfection. The staff were very polite and friendly and I would suggest a family meal here anytime.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hendrix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    39
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and so reasonably priced. Service was so friendly and welcoming. Definitely my favorite place to eat in Russel!

Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Food in Russell can be mediocre,and expensive,or both! Not so with "The Diggers" very good old fashioned value for money ,good food , pleasant staff,you left the place feeling you hadnt been ripped off.These guys are really trying.Eat here!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a restaurant that provides great food at a reasonable cost, look no further than Diggers restaurant at the Russell RSA. The owner/chef, Rob, has great skills and dishes are loaded with flavor. If you are lucky enough to be there when his beef pies are on the menu, you are in for a treat. They are very accomodating for all dietary requirements. We know that we will always great a great meal there, and it is a favorite restaurant for the locals. You can't go wrong.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pwrquilter2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIUKU, NEW ZEALAND
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Home style cooking at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

If your looking for style and ombience don't go here but if all your looking for is GREAT food at a very AFFORDABLE prices this is your restaurant. Good menu selection and a good range of drinks. TRY IT.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BASSA-DI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diggers Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Diggers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing