We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome value for money”
Review of Diggers Restaurant

Diggers Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Price range: US$4 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Come and enjoy relaxed dining in the warm, friendly environment of the local Russell RSA. We serve good, wholesome food at very reasonable prices. Dine in the Restaurant or outside in the covered courtyard. A childrens menu is available and there's even a toy box to keep the little ones amused too.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome value for money”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Friendly staff and really good food.
We were the only diners left and no issue for staff.
Would recommend you visit this restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    39
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Old-fashioned value for money: good food & service with a smile......”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Suspend the expecations of conventional dining ambience and go with a dining room /refectory style and it will be fine.

Indeed we visited (twice - a lunch and dinner) in the week before ANZAC day and took great delight in browsing the RSA bookshelves in the dining room while we waited for our meals.

Which I am happy to say were very, very good.
We sought out the Diggers Restaurant for the old favourite Lamb's fry and Bacon but discovered also that the Laksa packed a lovely authentic punch!

Just a block away from the waterfront these guys possibly miss the daytripping crowd which is their loss but holiday makers in the village should certainly include them in the culinary itinerary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Family group of 4 adults 6 children really enjoyed great service. Arrived without reservation but was not a problem. Meals were all served at once and were delicious. Great presentation, value for money, thoroughly enjoyed eating there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela_JM75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable and tasty ”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Went there with family for lunch. Nice, quiet place. Very reasonable prices. The presentation wasn't impressive, but the flavours.... Wow. Absolutely enjoyed our meal. Simple but flavourful.

Helpful?
4 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food not pricey”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you want simple food well cooked and at a fair price then this is the place. If you like military surroundings then you'll feel at ease but it's not a fashionable eating spot

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bradders242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diggers Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Diggers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing