We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful views and lovely hosts”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Du Fresne

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Du Fresne in centre front of picture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Villa Du Fresne in centre front of picture
Villa from front lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kari B
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful views and lovely hosts”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Villa Du Fresne at the start of our New Zealand holiday. We couldn't have had a better start. A lovely well appointed bungalow with uninterrupted sea views. Maureen and Ron couldn't have been more helpful right from the initial booking request through to the stay at their delightful holiday home. Anyone who is looking for a comfortable home from home with wonderful views and hospitable hosts should look no further than Villa Du Fresne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seekerh
Wheelers Hill, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Villa Du Fresne , A top choice to start the New Year”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We arrived on New Years Day to a warm welcome from the hosts, Maureen and Ron, the room was large and self contained with lounge and small kitchenette. It had wide clean windows overlooking the most wonderful view of the bay. There was a small veranda with chairs and telescope and reading lamp. With suggestions from Maureen where to eat. A quick drive down to Russell for plenty of choice. We were only staying one night at this peaceful bed and breakfast, so made the most of our stay,stargazing the amazing clear sky after dark, and perusing the many interesting local historical and flying books found in the bookshelves . The bed was large and comfy Maureen had added special little touches in the bathroom with pretty lotions to use and a makeup facewasher which was fun and quirky addition. We were also able to borrow some beach towels and return later in the day. Our breakfast in the morning was taken outside on the lawn overlooking the sea view, and was very substantial including cheese and tomato on toast. We were offered some picnic food to take with us on our boat tour out in the Bay of Islands. This was a lovely tour on the Dolphin Seeker, and it did not disappoint. We had a good view of our accommodation from the boat. We felt our hosts were very caring well organised and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We really wished we could have stayed another night.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine S
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb views, property and hosts”
Reviewed 26 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

This really is an exemplary home from home. Maureen and Ron have thought of everything any guest could ever need. They are superb hosts. The property has the most stunning view over the Bay of Islands, every morning a pod of dolphins played in the bay, we found not one but two pairs of binoculars! There are wonderful walks close by and we came across neighbors who knew Maureen and Ron and they invited us in for wine and coffee! Truly a lovely welcoming community. We stayed for two weeks and the time just flew by....we highly recommend this little piece of paradise, you will be so happy you booked!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We can not fault anything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Reviewed 26 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 31 October 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 25 October 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$215
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing