We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be overlooked.”

Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Berwick, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not to be overlooked.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had a marvelous dinner here. One of the best we have had in a long time. Slow cooked lamb shoulder and accompaniments. It was magnificent. Good service. Casual lunches are also quite good but it is Classy of an evening. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jetaway08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    396
    116
    47
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“quirky place with a nice view over the water”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The menu was rather "retro", but very tasty. Although the maître 'd seemed to have forgotten us, after we finally got seated our waitress was absolutely delightful. It may help to make reservations especially on busy nights.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank SeattleSongbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice bar and restaurant”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Charming motel and restaurant by the beach. I would recommend it for a drink and some nibbles, but it looked really good also for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oldie but no goldie”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Heralded as the top spot in Russell, well to say it was disappointing is the least.

First of all, if you want to get a good seat, you must make a booking. Even if you are coming in for a very early dinner (before 6 o'clock) don't expect to get one of the coveted front row tables. Yes, lesson learned...

Still second row is nice so in anticipation of the excellent food we were promised we ordered the Bouillabaisse and the Wakanui Scotch Fillet.

Hmm, don't expect to be served the food you ordered. The accompaniments for the fillet were not was what on the menu and what we had ordered - a shoulder shrug was the answer, more or less. Whether the meat was really a Scotch Fillet is still debated in our group...

The Bouillabaisse did not arrive and when the other two guests were halfway through their main, the explanation arrived. The cook had put too much chill (!) into the Bouillabaisse - 15 minutes later and it arrived. How does one manage this? Easy, you put the fish (3 mussels, 2 prawns and some very small pieces of fish) under cold water, heat up some fish stock and voila, a Bouillabaisse that does not deserve its name!

If you want a good dinner in Russell, check out Sally's or The Wharf....I can't comment on The Gables yet, this is on for tonight!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good service. Some food in small quantity and not very good”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Contrary to what happens in many restaurants, the waitress here, well understood what we wanted (that is, sauces separated from the fish and no dairy products). However, the quantity and the quality of the food was not satisfactory. More specifically: in our opinion, 5 (five) tua tua shells, which also tasted a bit foul, cannot be considered as a good main course. Their price was reasonable (17.5 dollars), but still...and we were having lunch, not dinner, so we expected not to spend too much. The other course (garlic mussels) was instead OK.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergio b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Marlborough also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing