We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice food, nice service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Duke of Marlborough

Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, nice service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner on Saturday night over Easter. Overall it was a nice night out. We booked earlier on in the day just in case but the restaurant still had a few spare tables when we arrived at 7.30. Service was fairly good. Food options were varied with good meat and fish options. My girlfriend struggled a bit with the vege options though. My fish was very fresh. Two starters, two mains, one desert plus 4 glasses of wine came in just under $150 NZD which was fair value. We caught the ferry over from Paihia so it made for a great evening.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwifromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    372
    110
    42
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
605 reviews
413 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Entree's Amazing Mains OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We ate here on a busy night so after eating sensational entrees were a little disappointed in the cooking of our fish. I think it was because the kitchen was getting smashed (there are an amazing number of tables here when they have all dining rooms firing) so i would reserve judgement until another visit. Would definitely go back as the bar is great, the view amazing and the ambience when we arrived with a guitarist playing under the trees next to the bay was superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Russell Township Views at their best, coupled with great food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I'm a local and the Duke keeps Russell Town a happening place to visit. The new owners are doing a stirling job of keeping the Duke 'authentic' but at the same time a casual, pleasant place for lunch, afternoon break with snacks, dinner - with a touch of class!
Excellent place for weddings, special occasions - beautiful place to be - giving a historic feel! Thank you - Rikki and Anton.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eveleen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great spot , lovely food, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Had dinner there two nights in a row. Very enjoyable. Elegant presentation,delicious food, generous portions. Friendly , helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank KiwiWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Condamine, Monaco
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprisingly elegant and quality taste in authentic setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

For those of you who have been to the 'Duke' in days past, it is true, it has been through many changes. There was a day when it was the old traditional put. Well, those days have long gone with new management which keeps an eye on good traditions while catering for more elegant dining, with stunning sea view in Russell, Bay of Islands. They have kept segments which give the Duke more depth and choice. For instance, the old beer bar still exists; the barman, tats and pony tail, responded to my 'surprise me' request by making me a wonderful passion and mango martini. We had booked by the sea on one of the terraces and the food was definitely the best meal we had during this stay in the Bay of Islands. Simple, textured, tasty, satisfying and excellent fresh quality ingredients.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tourmaline42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke of Marlborough also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing