We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
1 review
“Family fun”
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights in luxury apartments over New Year with son and family. Absolutely fantastic ! Spotlessly clean,well furnished, amenities first class. Owners very friendly and helpful. Excellent position for exploring Russell. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank philcat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    39
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
52
169
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Can't think of a single bad thing to say about our stay here.

We stayed for 5 nights (Nov 2012). John and Rongo are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area to help you get a feel for what to see/where to eat etc.

The location is top rate - right by the beach in quiet, beautiful Russell.

Facilities are spot on - rooms immaculate.

As I say I could go on and on. If you are planning a stay in Russell - stay here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Got a last minute booking and were welcomed with great service. Seafront rooms are awesome and as well very clean, modern and well designed. The manager goes out of his way and fixed us up with fishing, lent us some rods, made our bookings, provided kayaks. The little spa is all you need after a day on the seas. Recommended! Book the seafront ones, you will not be disappointed.

Thom Kleiss, Singapore

Room Tip: Take the seafront suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drkluitjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

John and Rongo run this place in an excellent manner. It is ultra clean and a friendly place to stay in. I cannot think of one observation that is not 100% about this wonderful place. An extremely good location in a charming locality with 'from the room walks along a peaceful waterfront'

Room Tip: if in car then ground floor suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffW156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very good location in Russell. Large comfortable room with a nice outside sitting area. We walked out across the grass and swam in the sea in the morning. The motel is lovely, very well-kept and clean and has friendly, helpful owners.
We borrowed a couple of the motel's sit-on kayaks (no charge) and had fun exploring the bay. They also have an indoor spa pool which looked good,although we didn't have time to use it.
We could only spend one night there but hope to return. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The location was perfect. We were only in the Bay of Islands area for a day and I wish we'd been able to stay a week to hike around. The owners were great and explained almost everything to us about the apartment and the area. The only thing they didn't tell us (and we didn't ask) was how to turn on the heat and it was a bit chilly until we figured it out.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annual_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hananui Lodge for five nights in early November 2012 we enjoyed our stay. We were after a quiet time where we could recharge our batteries and Hananui Lodge didn’t disappoint.

We stayed in unit 10 on the water’s front and enjoyed the views over the water towards Pahia. It was nice to relax on the balcony with a glass of wine and the gentle lapping of the water’s edge. We found unit 10 really good for another reason; the wrap-around balcony meant we had eating options outside if the wind was blowing in the wrong direction.

The private indoor heated spa was fantastic and a nice way to finish the day’s sight seeing.
Hananui Lodge is in easy walking distance to the eating places in Russell as well as the jetty from where the tours depart.

We are impressed about how John and Rongo keep the accommodation so clean (our unit was serviced every day) and is a credit to them.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjmoorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Property: Hananui Lodge Motel
Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing