We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We booked a deluxe apartment for three nights in January 2013. Rongo and John were very welcoming and hospitable. The accommodation was comfortable and well appointed. Although six years old the apartment was in excellent condition and SPOTLESSLY clean. There were five of us staying, all with some considerable travel experience and none of us could think of cleaner accommodation we had stayed at.
Huge kudos to Rongo, John and their team for their hard work.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Apartments across the road are newer but lack the sea views. Nice deck with a town view from the liv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hekenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

Stayed two nights in luxury apartments over New Year with son and family. Absolutely fantastic ! Spotlessly clean,well furnished, amenities first class. Owners very friendly and helpful. Excellent position for exploring Russell. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank philcat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Can't think of a single bad thing to say about our stay here.

We stayed for 5 nights (Nov 2012). John and Rongo are very welcoming and knowledgeable about the area to help you get a feel for what to see/where to eat etc.

The location is top rate - right by the beach in quiet, beautiful Russell.

Facilities are spot on - rooms immaculate.

As I say I could go on and on. If you are planning a stay in Russell - stay here - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Got a last minute booking and were welcomed with great service. Seafront rooms are awesome and as well very clean, modern and well designed. The manager goes out of his way and fixed us up with fishing, lent us some rods, made our bookings, provided kayaks. The little spa is all you need after a day on the seas. Recommended! Book the seafront ones, you will not be disappointed.

Thom Kleiss, Singapore

Room Tip: Take the seafront suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drkluitjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

John and Rongo run this place in an excellent manner. It is ultra clean and a friendly place to stay in. I cannot think of one observation that is not 100% about this wonderful place. An extremely good location in a charming locality with 'from the room walks along a peaceful waterfront'

Room Tip: if in car then ground floor suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffW156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Very good location in Russell. Large comfortable room with a nice outside sitting area. We walked out across the grass and swam in the sea in the morning. The motel is lovely, very well-kept and clean and has friendly, helpful owners.
We borrowed a couple of the motel's sit-on kayaks (no charge) and had fun exploring the bay. They also have an indoor spa pool which looked good,although we didn't have time to use it.
We could only spend one night there but hope to return. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riverwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The location was perfect. We were only in the Bay of Islands area for a day and I wish we'd been able to stay a week to hike around. The owners were great and explained almost everything to us about the apartment and the area. The only thing they didn't tell us (and we didn't ask) was how to turn on the heat and it was a bit chilly until we figured it out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annual_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
10 mi away
Stay Kerikeri Boutique Apartments and Studios
0.1 mi away
Commodore's Lodge
Commodore's Lodge
#6 of 8 in Russell
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#3 of 8 in Russell
47 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: £65 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing