We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Chinchilla, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best in area”
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed here recently, upgraded to a front Lodge apartment with lovely views. What an exceptionally presented property this is. The managers John and Rongo could give lessons on how to manage and run an accommodation venue properly. We enjoyed our two day stay and found Russell a charming and peaceful place to visit and highly recommend Hananui Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    39
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
54
170
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Having just relocated to Auckland we were really keen to explore the Bay of Islands. We stumbled across Hananui online as we wanted to see Russell having heard so many great things about it. After a lovely friendly welcome we stayed 2 nights in the lodge with a view of the harbour. The lodge suite was exceptionally clean, tidy and super comfortable and has all the necessary essentials for a short break away. It's also in such a great location to all local amenities and restaurants- you are literally seconds away from it all. John and Rongo are very friendly and welcoming, and have an exceptional knowledge of the area. We borrowed a couple of kayaks one morning and paddled around the harbour to some of the more remote beaches John had recommended. We also made good use of the on site hot tub. Would highly recommend Hananui to anyone and we will definitely will visit again.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SmoggyLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Leaving the Hananui is always difficult, but I always console myself with the fact that I will return. That I've been returning there for almost 20 years speaks volumes about the Hananui. It's right by the waterfront in the historic town of Russell and the sound of the waves on the shore is incredibly therapeutic - especially if you are sitting out on one of the balconies armed with a glass of New Zealand wine! Rongo and John are excellent hosts and are infallible sources of information on what's hot or not in the Bay. I always book one of their first floor units overlooking the water to make the most of their location. Russell faces west across the Bay, so you get great sunsets. As others have mentioned, the Hananui is seconds away from a range of excellent restaurants but I'm equally happy with a simple meal produced in the unit and consumed on the balcony. I've just spent four nights there and am already making plans for my return next year...

Room Tip: Go for one of the four waterfront units - you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roxheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stay a few days at Hananui Apartments and it was awesome. A greate place to be with perfect service by John and Rongo. Both are very kind and helpful ! Also the smal town Russel is absolutly nice. We never forget the sunset dinner at the seasite...

Room Tip: Room are absolutly clean, comfortable, large and modern decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We loved to stay here. We had a patio room and we were happy to have immediate walking access to the shore and all the best restaurants. The whole villa was super clean, modern decorated, the bed was super confortable, nice bathroom and great friendly service. I would stay again if I visited in the future.

Room Tip: Patio is good if you have heavy bags as the parking spot is in front of your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Spent two nights in this fresh and well equipped accommodation by the sea. Great spot with access to everything within walking distance. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the hosts were friendly. We had a balcony suite as it was the only available for two nights. It was perfectly comfortable with a view of the ocean from the balcony. The only slight criticism is that the walls of the units are a little thin and you can hear the people in the next room talking at night. It didn't detract from the stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

My husband and I arrived without a booking in this lovely old town of Russell. After a walk to oreintate ourselves we went back to Hananui, it just looked fresh, clean with superb position. The managers were very friendly, not at all pushy but there to help and give advice if needed about what to see, where to eat etc. We had a first floor room overlooking the ocean, it was just perfect.

The rooms are well equipped with microwave, utensils etc so a family could easily self cater. We had a double bed room, sitting/kitchen area and there was also a twin bedroom.

We only intended to stay one night, but could not resist a second. Our only regret was that we did not use the spa! Can thoroughly recommend it, Russel is such a lovely place and the Hananui made our stay there perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side could be hot, more air flow at the front facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazzaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
29 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
622 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Property: Hananui Lodge Motel
Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing