We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Beautiful accommodation in a setting that is beyond idyllic. Our 2 bedroom apartment was scrupulously clean, modern and had every amenity. The owners were charming and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank lauraav6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 290 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

Clean comfortable rooms which have been recently refurbished to a good standard. Hosts were very accommodating and friendly. Rooms with water view are more expensive as you would expect. If visiting Bay of Islands you should see Russell and stay for at least one night.

Room Tip: Ground level rooms at the front have the best water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greentoow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I arrived after a long journey to Russell with my adult Daughter. I had booked a double room with a fold out couch bed. However upon arrival I was asked by the owner "what have you done with your husband?" I replied " I don't have a husband", "but you've booked a double room" he said. I felt extremely uncomfortable due to his insensitivity and blatant interrogation of my personal life. I have traveled overseas and through out Australia numerous time and have never been interrogated like this. It is clear that Hananui Lodge prefers women to be accompanied by a male companion.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 05Whimsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We recently stayed in the Hananui Lodge for 4 nights. Our stay was fantastic.
Rongo and John were very hospitable anything we needed was not a problem for them the motel was very clean and quiet at night. Situated on the waterfront all you hear is the gentle waves on the shore at night and see the sun set beautiful.
Australians if you are looking for a relaxing holiday go to Russell in the Bay of Islands and stay in the Hananui I highly recommend it Excellent will be going back

Room Tip: Rooms in the front facing the beach the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 354cj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I spent one night in Russell on the my way touring around Northlands and the Bay of Island. John was very helpful and gave me lots of great tourist information and local pointers so I could get the most out of my stay. The service was great, the room was very close to the water with sea views. The room was spacious and clean, with good amenities and the adjacent spa was a great place to relax at the end of the day. All in all a great stay for a very reasonable price in the Lovely town of Russell.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Tasdivedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We have just spent four nights and three glorious days at this establishment in the heart of Russell. We were in the older sea front section and couldn't have been happier with the room, location, service and attention of managers John and his partner. They were attentive and helpful with out being intrusive at all. Our room was immaculate every day.
It was fabulous being able to walk every where and leave the car in the park.
We hope to return and highly commend a stay here.

Room Tip: We were glad to be in the older section with its frontage to the town park and proximity to Esplanad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just spent four nights at Hananui Lodge and wish it could have been longer . We absolutely loved it and Russell. We were in a studio room on the ground floor which was beautifully appointed, spacious and had an area outside for sitting and eating. We had a spacious, modern bathroom. The Lodge is perfectly situated. Our studio room was moments from the sea, ferry, post office, supermarket and restaurants.

The managers were very friendly and helpful - giving advice on places to go, booking trips and providing help with sorting out charging our GPS. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Every day our room was serviced and tea, coffee (instant and 'real') and fresh milk provided. We had a queen sized double bed that was really comfortable and a single. Although there was just the two of us the room was easily big enough for three.

Thank you, John and Rongo for making our stay such a pleasure. We hope we will be able to return soon.

Room Tip: Look at floor plan on Hananui website and choose a room close to the seafront for the fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Commodore's Lodge
Commodore's Lodge
#6 of 8 in Russell
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range: £77 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing