We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation at a great location with wonderful hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good accommodation at a great location with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed with the family (total 2 adults and 2 boys) at the Hananui for 3 nights in the second half of March 2014. The accommodation (we had a family suite on the second floor facing the Bay) was good with all the standard facilities (incl. unlimited WiFi) and amenities. Impeccable condition and well maintained. The location is fantastic with a) great views b) quiet c) everything you need i.e. choice of restaurants, supermarket etc. basically within 5 mins walking distance. The hosts, John and Rongo, are splendid; they have extensive local knowledge and made sure we had all the required information needed to make the most out of our short stay in Russell. One of the absolute highlights of our 2 week trip to NZ was a fishing trip with John. His calm, friendly and knowledgeable approach made this really special. The sashimi of our (sizeable) catch was the icing on the cake. In short, this is the place to stay if you are heading to the fantastic Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kaehto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    39
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
54
170
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were lucky enough to spend three nights here in a sea view unit and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The unit was beautifully furnished, in great condition & scrupulously tidy. The owners John & Rongo were friendly & helpful and we loved the kayaks and spa. The comfortable accommodation, stunning view and proximity to the main restaurants and wharf made for a very memorable honeymoon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyJFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern
Level Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

After two months touring, five nights in Russell's Hananui Lodge was a perfect close to our trip. It was centrally located, clean, spacious and well-maintained, with a well-equipped kitchen and an exceptionally comfortable bed. Simple things like the comfortable reading chairs and lots of space in the bathroom for cosmetic bags make a unit feel so much more homey!
John gave a very informative overview of the local sights and history. We loved Russell; the small-town ambiance with interesting history and safe beaches nearby. The car ferry was very efficient but gave a little buffer from the heavy tourist traffic of Pahia. It was wonderful to hear the lapping of waves from the unit, and to have a good selection of restaurants and cafes such a short walk away. Fantastic finish to our trip! Thank-you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank An0ther0pini0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in the 2 room apartment. It is a great location and well equipped apartment, not the cheapest, but probably the best of our trip. John and Rongo are fab. John was extremely helpful on our arrival and with no bias helped us plan places to see, eat and visit. Anyone going to Russell.. book here!

Room Tip: Even if you do not get a sea view apartment do not be put off. The apartments are clean, tidy and ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Cumbria.
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights in one of the Hananui Lodge apartments, which was ideally located on York street across from the main lodge. It was a top floor apartment which was very well appointed with a balcony overlooking the Main Street and Local Museum. Complete with fully fitted kitchen, comfortable lounge area, king size bed and air conditioning, we could find no fault. The three floors of stairs albeit no problem to us may be a problem to some. Secure garaging on the ground floor was also an advantage.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Beautiful accommodation and impeccable service. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was just lovely, a great size and so clean. John and Rongo were so helpful and welcoming, we couldn't of asked for more. The rooms are serviced every day. I would highly recommend staying here, you won't be disappointed! !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rufus7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock north
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Having stayed in 5 star hotels around the world - this place is an experience - maybe a bit mor rustic than the hilton but magical - close to the beach, bars and restaurants we had a fab time - john and rongi are the perfect hosts- thanks for having us

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
2.3 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Property: Hananui Lodge Motel
Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing