We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional Experience”
View of beach from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of beach from balcony
Dining area Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
View of beach from balcony
Dining area
Living area
Living area
Living area
Rear courtyard
Twin bedroom
Master bathroom
Front of the apartment (upstairs)
Russell waterfront beach
Balcony of the lounge
Main bathroom
View for the upstairs balcony
Russell waterfront beach
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Reviewed 12 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
macOceanG...
Ocean Grove
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best spot to stay in Russell”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We have just returned from a week staying in The Gables and we were delighted with every aspect of this beautiful apartment. Sitting above the Gables restaurant over looking the water and The Strand, this historic building is filled with character, yet has all the modern comforts.
All of the appointments are first class and you will not be disappointed in anyway.
The position is amazing, you will never tire of the ever changing view or watching the people passing by or eating at the many restaurants along the way.
We appreciated all of the advice about the local places to visit, eat and see as well as the warm welcome from Lesley on our arrival.
We will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jetaway08
Berwick, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Perfection Plus”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
4
people found this review helpful

This is a well laid out apartment in a wonderful position. There wasn't a thing you could need that wasn't there. From Bandaids in the bathroom, a cosy gas log fire, books, wine glasses,
comfort plus, almost new, very clean. A place you could just move in and think it was yours.
On the door step of the water, ferry to Paihia, shops & wonderful restaurants. Keri Keri was a great days visit as well. We wil stay longer next time.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing not to like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearly49
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxing”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a 3 night stay. The fire kept us warm and cosy at night and the facilities and comfort of the apartment made for an enjoyable stay. This is an ideal place to enjoy some self catering luxury and within the hub of the highlights of Russell. We heard the restaurant downstairs a couple of times but it wasn't intrusive (nor was it that busy).

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: That dishwasher needs to be installed. A bread knife would assist.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andy1454
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The Gables apartment is as beautiful as it looks in the photos. The apartment is immaculate and beautifully decorated, a truly gorgeous place to stay. The location is also the perfect place from which to enjoy Russell and the Bay of Islands.

The master bedroom with its own bathroom is on the very top floor of the apartment, and from there you can hear gentle waves on the shore below. The other bedroom is at the back of the apartment and very quiet once the Gables restaurant below closes. I was a bit concerned about staying above a restaurant, but it was very quiet and just added to the ambience.

The kitchen is outfitted better than my home kitchen! There's everything you might possibly need, including an impressive selection of wine and champagne glasses, in case you want to enjoy a few drinks on the balcony overlooking the water.

Overall, it was an excellent place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
California
Reviewed 3 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing