We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eagles Nest
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke Motel(Russell)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triton Lodge(Russell)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
136
5
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
5
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate chefpersonal chefinfinity poolnew zealandfully stocked kitchenhot tubmaster bathroomhuge screenstaff cateredluxurious accommodationcook your ownevery directionbedroom villaslice of heavenamazing viewsthree bedroomthis wonderful place
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We just got back from Eagles Nest and had such a great trip. The location is beautiful, the sunsets are amazing and the views from each of the villas is incredible. We went on a family vacation and at first I was nervous that my kids would be bored but once I was there I can't believe I ever worried. Our villa had it's own pool (we were in the 3 bed/3 bath) and William promptly brought over pool toys and goggles for my kids. There was a high chair set up and organic milk stocked in the fridge and a crib with linens set up in our bedroom. All the furniture was great and it was so nice to have a fully stocked kitchen especially with young children. The place is extremely pricey and they even point it out on boat tours and say it is the nicest resort in all of New Zealand but I think it is worth every penny. Russell is really cute with some great restaurants. William has really good suggestions and we went on a fabulous kayak trip and boat ride and went to the Maori center. We really loved everything and my 4 year old son just asked if we could go back. The Bay of Islands also has the best weather on the North Island.

Room Tip: Only 5 villas and all seemed great.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEFSEF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for four nights in December 2011 in the Eyrie, one of the lovely collection of modernist beach bach/villas which make up the Eagle's Nest just outside the main village of Russell in the Bay of Islands, NZ. Unfortunately the weather was terrible, so we did not get to enjoy the views, the barbecue, the pool, etc. Nonetheless, it was still quite clear what a special place Eagle's Nest is. Whoever designed the buildings and landscaping of this resort deserves some kind of "Super Clever" award. It appears that each of the villas enjoys a location on the hills which gives a feeling of splendid isolation, coupled with impressive views over the Bay and surrounding islands. The clever and extensive planting/gardening adds to this feeling of a private oasis. The villas themselves have a light and airy feel, with white painted walls, light coloured wooden flooring, lots of glass sliding doors, and neutral modern decor. One of the taps in the master bathroom had sheared off, and that ought to have been remedied before allowing guests to stay. Also, the shower in the junior master suite had a tendency to flood the bathroom, which meant lots of sopping up water with posh towels. These were only minor complaints. The bathrooms were stocked with nice toiletries and the kitchen was very well equipped, and the kind hosts included all sorts of edibles in the fridge, from basics to delicacies. Some of these were included in the price and some carried an extra charge. The coffee maker we found fiendishly difficult to use, but maybe we're a bit thick. On our first night we chose to engage a private chef to make dinner for us, as we knew we would be tired after a long day of driving. This turned out to be a very nice experience albeit eye-wateringly pricey. I'd say it was worth it however. It felt relaxed and special at the same time, the food was prepared with our children's food allergies taken into account, and the wine chosen was lovely - Black Barn Reserve 2009 from Hawke's Bay. I also engaged the masseuse to come to the villa for a massage and pedicure, and this was very nice as well, something I would recommend. There is a great deal of information available at the villa about places to see and things to do, and a lovely fireplace which we used often due to the chilly, wet weather. I wonder if the Eagle's Nest is a little too quiet - although I am sure people go there looking for a bit of zen in a busy life, the place sometimes felt deserted. We noticed it was being offered for sale. I hope this doesn't mean bad things for the Eagle's Nest, as it really is a very special place and deserves to prosper. We joked about buying this lovely patch of earth and turning it into our own private family compound, but when we jokingly enquired after the asking price, we were primly referred to the estate agent. No fun! Thank you for a very nice few days, Eagle's Nest.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank beauchamptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Eagles Nest is an easy three hour drive from Auckland, just outside the lovely village of Russell. Make sure that you don't take the Russell Road, it is long, winding and very narrow - stick to State Highway 1 to Kawakawa, then to Opua and the ferry to Russell.
We booked the First Light villa which was excellent -very spacious with lots of glass which enabled panoramic views of the magnificent Bay of Islands. The bedroom is on a mezzanine floor with a fantastic shower area and a great view.
First Light has a fully fitted kitchen. Items for a do-it-yourself breakfast were supplied daily - bacon, eggs, tomatoes, two varieties of yoghurt and three varieties of juices. Bread, tea and coffee were also provided and a huge platter of fruit was replenished daily. Cheese, ice cream, wine, beer and mineral water are also available in the villas but these incur extra charges. Eagles Nest bottled water is free.
Villas are serviced daily but a guest may request no servicing for even greater privacy.
A province-wide power outage, which shorted out the television, happened after our first night and the assistant manager William was brilliant. He settled us in another villa, so I could continue watching a tennis game .
When it became clear that the television could not be fixed quickly we were moved to the Sacred Space villa for the remaining three days of our stay. This villa is huge and could sleep eight people. A massive master bedroom with even better views than from First Light was the icing on the cake together with three other bedrooms ( two with en-suite), an outdoor heated swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The gourmet kitchen, home theatre and beautiful Oriental furniture added to the fabulous atmosphere.
William booked a taxi to take us into Russell for our evening meal and when it didn't turn up, he drove us to the restaurant and ensured that we were given a complimentary bottle of wine with our meal. I later found out that only one taxi was available in Russell during this time.
A personal chef is available for $65 per hour, plus food costs. Excellent menus to choose from including a seafood BBQ. We used the service once, ordering hot and cold canapes. the chef arranged everything beautifully but all the canapes were cold - the chef told us that the hot canapes are only cooked prior to serving. When I mentioned this to William, he said this was not correct and took the whole amount off our bill.
All in all a fantastic, luxurious resort with complete privacy with unobtrusive but excellent service.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ayalax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I stayed there with my husband for 3 nights for our honeymoon and it was absolutely fantastic! we were in The Eyre suite, it was amazing! the service is spectacular (everything you need is at your feet) we had a personal chef coming iver to cook dinner for us, a personal masseuse... and they stock your refrigerator with a lot of things for breakfast. So I would say this is the only bad note - if you don't like to cook, since you have to cook your own breakfast. But if you have a lot of money you can just have the personal chef come and cook you breakfast every day :)

Room Tip: The Eyre was great!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We spent three magnificant days in Russell. We had very high expectations of The Eagle's Nest based on their website and reviews. Our expectations were exceeded in every category. Our villa, "First Light" is perched on a hill with the most most unbelievable, panoramic views of the Bay of Islands. The views from every window are postcard worthy. The villa itself is high end luxury down to every minute detail. The native birds serenade you every morning and evening from the tops of the lush foliage that surrounds the property. The conscierge (William in our case) was immensely helpful in arranging a boat for us to sail the Bay. We were treated with a pod of dolphins who tagged along for a bit as we cruised the many picturesque islands in the area. The tarriff is a little spendy, but worth every penny. The experience is certainly over the top-should be on every bucket list.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K9safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews