We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I CAN'T STOP THINKING ABOUT IT”
Review of Eagles Nest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eagles Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed at Eagles Nest for our wedding anniversary in June last year. (It has taken me awhile to get around to reviewing it!)
I had heard so much about it and had anticipated staying for so long.
It is the best place I have EVER stayed and I travel a lot and stay in nice hotels.
We stayed in the First Light house which is one of the smaller houses, but it's still big for two people! Private house with sea views, surrounded by lush bush and gardens, with a gym and sauna in the garage and a spa out in the garden. A large deck with BBQ, which we didn't need because we took advantage of the private chef on offer!!
When we arrived we drove into our gated private house. We were so impressed. The Manager let us in and showed us around before leaving us for the weekend.
There was champagne on arrival (complimentary) and the kitchen is well stocked with everything you need. Two loaves of bread, one white, one wheat, eggs, bacon, cheese, butter, spreads, cereals, juices, sodas, milk, fresh fruit ... so many things and they are all included and replenished daily!! There is also a Nespresso machine, all the mod cons of a kitchen, and plenty of bottles of wine available for purchase.
The house is equipped with all the latest TV channels and a great stereo system with a large music selection.
There are two bathrooms and the bedroom is on a mezzanine. You are woken by the sun and the view. The house all glass and it's beautiful.
We were offered many exclusive activities for our weekend like fishing, sailing, swimming with dolphins etc. But we decided to just relax, reading magazines and books, sitting in the spa, visiting the Russell township. We even got a massage and facial in our room, which was fantastic.
The Private Chef was great. He is very respectful and will not disturb you unless you want him to. We chatted to him while he cooked us a delicious three course meal (see my photos). We had the fire going and the rugby on the big screen TV. It was a luxurious experience.
I will definitely go back to Eagles Nest for my next special occasion. I may even take some friends and stay in the 'Big House' with infinity pool.
If you want luxury you will never forget, I recommend Eagles Nest above all others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JJLuvsHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have come here for the 2nd time. And we enjoyed it as much as last year. We were 3 couples and choose the wrong Villa (2 of the 3 rooms were small without nice outdoor view) but William has done everything nicely to make our stay the greatest.
We'll definitely come back and will call William before our coming.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jcrlierru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I (and our friends) stayed at The Eyrie for 3 nights recently. The villa itself was absolutely beautiful with amazing views. The pool and deck area were lovely and the hot tub was fantastic (particularly with a glass of bubbles in hand)!

The villa had everything you could possible want and the food provided for breakfast was just lovely.

William was our contact for this trip and I don't think he was ever off duty! He was available every time we needed him (even picking us up from Russell himself) and couldn't have been more helpful. We had booked a parasailing trip for the Sunday morning and William offered to reconfirm the booking for us that morning. When he phoned them he found that the boat had broken down so the trip was cancelled. My friend asked if there was any way we could get on the water (as it was such a beautiful day) and within 30 minutes William had arranged a private sailing trip (half day) for us - wow, what incredible service!

We also had a picnic provided for us one day and a private chef (Keith) one evening. The food on both occasions was great and Keith did an amazing job for us. I definitely recommend booking the private chef option for at least one meal.

If we ever manage to get back to this part of the world we will definitely return to this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulesMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at The Eyrie and loved it. Gorgeous views across the Bay and back up to Waitangi, lovely infinity pool and the deck was great for hanging out on. We really enjoyed the private chef and the little touches (candles refreshed each day, exceptional linen and towells, glass around deck and pool cleaned every time we went out it seemed, mention you've forgotten something and they'll source it or lend you it). They leave the yummiest things in the fridge to make breakfast as well. A sensational spot to relax.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We spent two nights at Eagles Nest last week and had the most wonderful time. Everyone involved there was so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Can't imagine you would ever tire of those views!

Room Tip: All the rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stancroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you want an exclusive villa right in the middle of 70 acres of land with no one else around, immersed in luxury and stunning views then think no further than Eagle's nest.
Amazing place manned by some amazing staff, William, the manager catered to our every need and was prompt and courteous every time.

Room Tip: First light is the best if you are a honeymoon couple, although go at a time when the villa just in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohanBatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

You do not have to be a celebrity to enjoy the privacy, tranquillity and great service that the Eagles Nest has to offer. It was our second trip there and we are already planning the next one.

When we planned this New Zealand getaway, the biggest question was how to accommodate all our needs. Enough sightseeing for the European part of the group to justify the long distance travel and not too much travelling around re-packing the suitcases every other night. The solution was quite simple, stay at the Eagles Nest and use it as our base for discovering the northern tip of New Zealand - based on our previous experience we knew we would not be disappointed.

From making the booking - they do remember you from the previous time including your food allergies - to the arrival and being greeted by the manager with the champagne perfectly chilled. Yes, they are really expecting a call when you board the ferry in Opua so that everything is ready for you....

We stayed both times at the Eyrie Villa, two beautifully appointed bedrooms each with their own ensuite; large open floor living and dining area; and a deck area with pool and spa that you do not want to leave - we did less day trips than originally planned! The decor is modern and very sophisticated with technical entertainment equipment I would like to have at home.

The accommodation is self-service unless you request your own personal chef, which we have not done yet. The complimentary breakfast provision are chosen for the food lovers in mind and leave nothing to desire - you can always complete them with the other provisions in the fridge (very reasonably priced) or check out the supermarket in Paihia.
What we have done though is order their sumptuous picnic hampers to take away, if you are looking for a day trip off the beaten track and am worried about going hungry, this is the way to go!

It's the little things that add up making the Eagles Nest so special. I know it sounds quite ridiculous but have you ever:
- played hide and seek with housekeeping because they keep on misplacing things at different spots? This won't happen at the Eagles Nest...
- wondered when they will do your rooms? In the Eagles Nest they ask you at check-in for your preferred service time. And yes, if they see you are at home ,you get a call confirming that it would still suit you for them to come around or if you prefer a later time.

In addition, the staff is very happy to assist in every other way:
- looking for some place to wine and dine - they make a few suggestions and do the booking for you.
- want to go on a day sailing trip without one hundred of you new best friend? They chose the perfect day, with sunshine and wind, and make arrangements. You get even asked for your preference of boat, we went for the cruising type of boat and not the racey one....
- want to indulge? Make a booking for a in-house spa treatment. What a treat, lying on the deck, enjoying the scenery and feeling very relaxed and pampered.

So, if you want the celebrity treatment without being one – this is the way to go!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TSkippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.6 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
2.5 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
215 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 19 in Russell
246 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Sanctuary @ Bay of Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Nest

Address: 60 Tapeka Road, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range: £889 - £2,034 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eagles Nest 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles Nest is a multi award winning retreat overlooking the spectacular Bay of Islands. The 75 acre estate offers five world class luxury villas. Each offering; private heated infinity edge lap pool (excl First Light Villa), jacuzzi, air conditioning, home theater system. Talented chefs prepare cuisine featuring regional delicacies matched with New Zealand wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Eagles Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagles Nest Hotel Russell
Eagles Nest Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing