We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless!!!”
Review of Pukematu Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Russell
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pukematu Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Russell
leicester
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Faultless!!!”
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We are a party of four adults spending five weeks in NZ - Pukematu Lodge was by far the best accommodation of our stay. Colwyn (and Mum!) were fantastic hosts - what a beautiful home and their welcome was outstanding. Fantastic views and mouthwatering breakfasts. Colwyn's knowledge of the area was spot on and he willingly arranged our dolphin trip. The afternoon "snacks" were most welcome when we returned from our days out and the rooms kept spotless - even beach towels were provided. Nothing was too much trouble and thanks a lot for the lovely memories of the Bay of Islands - we even had the sunshine!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

We chose Pukematu Lodge for our wedding on Valentine's day last year. All I can say is that the website does not do it justice, we were totally blown away with the beauty of the place. We had booked the 3 suites for ourselves and our 2 children and their spouses, for 2 days, but none of us wanted to leave there, ever!
Colwyn is the perfect host and left us in his beautiful lodge that we were to treat as home, only to return to prepare a sumptuous breakfast the next morning. As a wedding celebrant, Colwyn has to be the best, he made our day so special and we couldn't have bettered it. What a lovely man, so gracious and humble.
Our stay holds a special place in our hearts, and if we could do it all again we wouldn't change a thing - except to stay for longer! We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWarwickshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2010

Colwyn was an excellent host. From a warm welcome to catching King fish, it could not have been any better.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovedNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Pukematu Lodge was recommended by other travellers we met along our journey in New Zealand. As a result, we went to check out the lodge without reservations ... it was so gorgeous we stayed until Colwyn found us!! Luckily for us, he had a room available. Our stay with Colwyn was one of the highlights of our trip and we can't wait to go back hopefully next year. We stayed 4 nights and didn't want to leave! Incredible, outstanding views ... Colwyn is a gracious and warm host (our new Kiwi cousin). Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourCdns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
twyford uk
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

We stayed on Pukematu at the start of our holiday to NZ and all wisjhed we could have stayed longer. Colwyn is a relaxred and attentitive host, who made our stay an absolute joy. We also spent a day out fishing with Colwyn on his boat. Colwyn was brilliant with our children, especially our 9yr old son, who he made feel really special . We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwyfordUkSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steentje
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

We just returned from Pukematu Lodge in Russell and booked another long weekend before we left. We loved the place, felt quite at home, and enjoyed the contact with the other guests during breakfast and our before-dinner-drinks. We went out on the boat with Colwyn for a half day and saw schools of dolphins, penguins and 4 orcas.
We had so much fun! A wonderful place with a wonderful atmosphere. Thank you Colwyn!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

We stayed there 4 nights, the host was perfect, the room was perfect, the food was perfect and the views were better than perfect. My only complaint was that Colwyn promised to show how the card tricks were done when we stayed there again and he was fully booked when we tried to return in 2008. This means that we will be "forced" to go back in 2010.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterRAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.3 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
286 reviews
0.6 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
30 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pioneer Waterfront Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pukematu Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pukematu Lodge

Property: Pukematu Lodge
Address: Top Flagstaff Hill, Russell, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Pukematu Hotel Russell
Pukematu Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing