We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Auckland Anniversay weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Auckland Anniversay weekend”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Superb ocean side room, beautifully clean and spacious. Breathtaking view over the sea and the most romantic sunset you can imagine. Helpful and good natured staff, the food is good. One of those places you are sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanside room. They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to post your review we appreciate your feedback and are pleased you enjoyed you Auckland Anniversary weekend stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    284
    72
    17
    11
See reviews for
168
640
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I have recently had my wedding at the Duke and it was truely amazing. The staff are fantastic and the new owners Anton, Bridget, Jane and Ricky have transformed the hotel into the perfect mixture of old and new.

The service is outstanding, the accommodation is outstanding and the food is 'too die for'', as my Mother inlaw says.

The owners are wonderful to deal with and provided so much help and information for our big day. I never felt stressed once as it was always sorted and looked after by them (sorry guys too much pressure).

We mostly dealt with Anton and Bridget and nothing seemed a problem for these two. They made us feel almost part of the Duke and always took the time to talk even if we popped in at some of their busiest times.

I have been holidaying in Russell for quite a few years and these four people have put life back into not only the Duke but also Russell it's self.

Will be back again, again and again!!!

Cheers Guys

Room Tip: They are all great I have seen many when choosing accommodation for guests but the water front rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks Rachel – we are so glad you enjoyed your day and it was everything you had hoped for. It was a great wedding and great wedding party! We look forward to seeing you back for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Quaint, romantic, very comfortable, location par excellence! We travelled from South Australia to experience a New Zealand beachside location that delivered a sense of NZ history, a clean comfort room, good reliable food and beverage, a sea view and a willing smile, suffice to say the Duke delivers superbly on almost every level!
Food was right up to the mark and good value supported by quite a good NZ wine selection.
Only one small let down was the length of time it took to get a drink served to your table?Looked like the bar was the bottleneck rather than the waiting staff and going to the bar to get your own was apparently frowned upon by the same bar staff...confusing?

Room Tip: Standard room has a more room than a studio for not a lot more money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Manager at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for your review and taking the time to give feedback. It’s only with feedback we can improve. We are sorry that your drink service was slow – we have reviewed this with our restaurant manager to improve the flow of service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Duke and hope you can come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We have been back to the Duke twice in 4 months! The accommodation, service, location and staff are fantastic! It was interesting to wonder around Russell speaking with the locals who all talked so highly of the new owners of the Duke, Anton, Bridget, Jane and Ricky. They all said that in the last 18 months the turnaround has been amazing.

The food is first class. It is fine dining with a great, casual atmosphere. The boullabouise, made with the freshest local seafood is outstanding! We could have eaten elsewhere but there was no need as the variety and taste sensations available at the Duke cover all occasions...including a good kids menu.

Our kids had a ball. They were able to safely swim right in front of he hotel and spent a lot of time jumping off the wharf.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They booked all or excursions...fishing, parasailing and trip to Hole in the Rock.

The rooms are very comfortable and have all the modern amenities that you need mixed with an ambience of the history and age of New Zealands first licensed hotel!

We have already recommended the Duke and will be back...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Wow! Thanks so much for the fantastic feedback. Since we bought the property 18 months ago we have been working hard on turning round the Duke into something we can all be proud off. From the rooms, to the menu , to the service we have made a significant number of changes and improvements so it’s really satisfying to get feedback like this. We look forward to you coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

The Duke has undergone a facelift and renovation. The rooms are elegant and very very comfortable; try and book a room overlooking the bay.mine even had a small deck.
Dinner was superb........ the wedding I also attended there was superb. The staff treated you like royalty and were most attentive. There is no lift but someone helped with the luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiGranNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Duke – thank you for taking the time to feedback on your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Positano, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Having not been to Russell since I was a child I just loved the place and the lovely dinner we had with the family made our day , staff we very good and food also.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fornillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
We are glad you enjoyed the food and experience at The Duke. We hope you can come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Stayed in the Duke for 3 nights. Unfortunately the weather was awful but the staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi was a nice touch considering Russell in the rain isn't the most exciting destination. Had dinner in the restaurant which was mixed, 2 poor main courses, 2 exceptional main courses. Hotel room was small and the double bed was cramped to say the least. Be careful of mosquitos at night, they eat you alive. Would like to go back and see the Duke and Russell in all it's glory sometime.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thanks for taking the time to feedback on your stay at The Duke – it was a pity about the weather we had a really bad run of it during Christmas but it is back on track now with some beautiful sunny days. It sounds like you had booked one of our small but cosy rooms – which all have Queen Beds, but being small they do have reduced space. We hope that you can visit again soon as we continue to build and improve The Duke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#1 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing