We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Duke Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$113
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$85
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore's Lodge(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$244
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triton Lodge(Russell)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Great 4.5/5
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Reviews (1,214)
Filter reviews
1,214 results
Traveller rating
761
327
87
20
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
327
87
20
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfront roomlambseafood chowderold world charmoldest hotelwedding receptionsmall roomnew zealandwine listcontinental breakfastopen fireoverlooking the baylovely locationwaters edgewatching the sunsetwater frontstayed two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,119 - 1,124 of 1,214 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at 'The Duke' for two nights and what a treat. We rang to say we would be late arriving and this was not a problem. Everyone made us feel welcome. Great lunch and dinner.
Enjoyed the atmosphere and reading the information book in the room about the hotel facilities was worth the read. So different from all others I have seen. Go there and read it for yourself to see what I mean.
Great room (4) over looking the sea and got some good photos.
If driving, I would suggest you go by the Ferry if travelling at night ($12 for car, driver and passenger) rather then going via the road.
Unfortunately we did not get to see the great sunset we had heard about, so will just have to go back again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We recently spent 3 weeks touring New Zealand and our stay at the Marlborough Hotel was our favorite. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The location couldn't be better as it is right on the water front.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redbaron28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

What great feedback! Hopefully you can come back one day and enjoy our hospitality again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Stayed one night here in room 4 on 23/02/12 whilst touring NZ and splashed out!. Great room with balcony facing the sea with views and everything you need, worth the cost for something special. A great selection of teas in the room, nice touch. Russell and Bay of Islands a must for visitors to N.Z. Good evening meal. If sea food lovers, call at the oyster farm on the left after leaving the car ferry, a dozen oysters for $NZ10, grab a bottle of Sav or your fancy and sit on the balcony of room 4 looking over the bay and enjoy.

Room Tip: Spash out and go for room 4!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank owlsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Duke of Marlborough Hotel – thanks for taking the time to feedback. The local Orango Bay oysters are delicious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This was our first stop on a short trip to New Zealand. Some friends had recommended the Bay of Islands as a good place for a bit of R and R after the long flight from the UK and the trip from Auckland to Russell was spectacular. We'd been told that Pahia was a bit commercial and that Russell was a quieter spot, this was certainly the case! We thought that the setting was amazing and really was just what the doctor ordered. The hotel has an excellent location and we enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the world go by. The food was good (not amazing by any means and the continental breakfast was quite poor in comparison to their lunch and dinner fayre) and the wine selection was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and only too keen to help us make the most of our time in the area. Our room was quite small at the back of the hotel but was clean and comfortable. However, I thought it was a little expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WandsworthWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks for the feedback and we are glad that you enjoyed yourself in Russell and The Duke. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy your complementary continental breakfast – comparing breakfast to lunch and dinner (which which we get many compliments about) probably would see breakfast come out third! Having reviewed our breakfast we are happy that the range of cereals, pastries, breads, fresh fruit, yogurt, specialist tea, coffee and juices is a great start to the day! For less than $200 a night including breakfast, free parking and wifi with a waterfront location we know we offer value for money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Have eaten a few times at this establishment and has always been pleasant, staff always friendly although seem to consistently get things wrong with orders/drinks/bills! Generous portions and food always tasty, however seem to be lacking good desserts. Made me realise how important it is to have a good dessert to round off the whole meal. This wont stop me going back though, great atmosphere....and look forward to maybe seeing some tasty desserts in the future!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to feedback – we are glad that you enjoyed your meal at The Duke. We have just a launched our new menu including some new fantastic deserts including Classic Tiramisu with chocolate balsamic and Kahlua drops, Strawberry Patch with Strawberry filled panacotta, marinated strawberries & chocolate soil, Lemon Bomb Meringue with Lemon curd ice cream, raspberry puree & locally made Lemoncello liqueur and my personal fav Melting Chocolate Fondant w black doris plum sorbet & cream! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews