We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$463
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcadia Lodge(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiki Tiki Ora(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Nest(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke Motel(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Clendon(Russell)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveller rating
774
330
87
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
774
330
87
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfront roomlambseafood chowderold world charmoldest hotelwedding receptionsmall roomnew zealandwine listcontinental breakfastopen fireoverlooking the baylovely locationwaters edgewatching the sunsetwater frontstayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
1,132 - 1,137 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The hotel prides itself on its history, but some work is now needed to update the furnishings and brighten the somber dining room. Our room, which faced the water, was spacious enough (considering the price) but the hotel as a whole needs updating and staff who know what's happening. Our son in the US had arranged to use his credit card to pay for his Dad's 75th birthday dinner at the Duke, but at the end of the meal the bill was presented to my husband, which it should not have been--I had to jump up from the table and talk to the person in charge who remembered suddenly that this was the case. So part of the fun was spoiled due to lack of attention to detail, which is a problem throughout the hotel, such as staff not being aware of activities in town. Goodness, it's such a small town--surely they should be aware of the boat rides and such! So in sum, I found it not very warm and in need of some rethinkng.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FSH_203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to feedback. The hotel has been under new management since May 2010 and we have been spending a lot of time and money renovating the hotel so am surprised to find the comment that the hotel is a bit tired as we get great compliments on the changes we have made. Being an old Victorian building built in the late 1800’s and being New Zealand’s first hotel licence does make our hotel quite unique but not always to everyone’s tastes in terms of décor and style. The Duke respects in heritage but has been renovated to suit the modern day traveller.

It is our normal practice that before charging to a credit card we would have someone at the table check the bill to check for accuracy.

We spend a lot of time with our staff regarding activities and such at the hotel. Our reception staff are especially skilled in providing information about Russell and the Bay of Islands area and you can book trips through them. In the reception lobby there is a lot of information and this is also covered in your room compendium. I am sorry on this instance you didn’t find the information you wanted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Wonderful place & service
Thank you so much for a fantastic stay! Will bring the kids next time

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were having a really wonderful stay here until a wedding party moved from the hotel into the accommodation area after midnight and continued a very loud party until 3am - we found that the managers all went home at midnight and had quite a job trying to get them to quieten down and get some sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms with views over the water are great - sun deck rooms are good but share the deck with several other rooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to feedback. We are sorry that you sleep was intruded by the wedding party. There is always managers available on site and can be contacted from your hotel phone if there are any rare problems like this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We are regular travellers for business and pleasure and can confidently say The Duke is up there with the best pub/restaurants we've visited. I haven't had the pleasure of staying on the premises but can vouch for the food, the service and the wine list - all excellent. The views aren't bad either!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TedsmumNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Thank-you so much to Bridget and the team at the Duke for all the effort that went into making such an awesome reception and place to stay. From the reception staff who were very helpful in booking all of our guests in, to the team who set up the dining tables who created just the right look, and to the friendly waiting staff who I have heard nothing but good things about, and not to mention, the compliments to the chef! Wow, what an amazing canape selection that everyone is raving about, the dinner was to die for, and for those still wanting more, the desert station was decadent! The Duke was everything that I had expected and more. If I had to do it all over again - I wouldnt change a thing! We will definitely be back to stay here for many more anniversaries to come.

Room Tip: The Waterfront rooms are spectacular for a very special night.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUKERUS, Owner at Duke of Marlborough Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thanks Donna it was a pleasure to be part of your day and we are delighted that it was everything you were after. We look forward to seeing you on your anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews