We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in amazing location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a night in Russell staying at The Duke of Malborough Hotel. From the moment we arrived at the front desk to the time we left the staff were amazing. The bar staff, wait staff and receptionist were all so friendly and helpful. Our rooms were clean and comfortable and the rest of the hotel had a lovely old world charm. We ate in the restaurant and the food was of a high standard. I would return again to this hotel in an instant and highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff-Dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
There are newer reviews for Duke of Marlborough Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

We spent the first night of our 3 night Bay of Islands mini-break from Auckland at Duke of Marlborough. What a perfect hotel! The rooms clean, tidy & comfortable (although very small wash basin area in the bathroom). A great location to enjoy great walks from & handy to all the sights to see. We enjoyed a wine (or 2!) on a leather sofa in front of a roaring fire before the most delicious dinner (originally we planned to eat at a local restaurant but as it was a Monday in winter all were shut - how fortuitous that turned out to be!!!!), local oysters, the beef sharing plate and desert. Breakfast the following morning was a great continental selection, perfect to start the day. The staff were warm, friendly & welcoming - always ensuring we had all we needed. We fully intend to return in the summer & stay for more than just 1 night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We recently spent the last night of our 'Far North' trip at "The Duke". What a great shame we couldn't stay for longer! It was the absolute 'finale' and we will not hesitate to return. Soon, hopefully. We enjoyed a waterfront room, complete with balcony, which was perfect for a couple of pre-dinner drinks watching the activity on the harbour and catching the last of the days glorious winter sunshine. The room itself was quite gorgeous, clean, comfy and very welcoming. We dined at the restaurant and found both the food and the service excellent, it was by far the best we had experienced during our whole trip. We had been really looking forward to our stay at "The Duke" and we were certainly not disappointed. As a New Zealander I'm proud to think that travellers from around the globe are experiencing such great hospitality in my country. Well done!

Room Tip: Go for a Waterfront room if you want to enjoy the afternoon/evening sun and the activity on the harb...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Le plus vieil hotel de la NZ. La restauration et le bar sont au TOP. Tant dans l'ambiance (déco...) qu'au niveau du service et du repas (un bémol sur le breakfast). Le fish and chips = INCONTOURNABLE Les chambres sont tout à fait correctes mais l'eau de la douche peine à garder sa t°C régulière. Une vue de rêve sur la bay of island.

The oldest hotel in NZ. Catering and bar are awsome. Both in the atmosphere (déco. ..) at the level of service and meals (a damper on the breakfast). The fish and chips = GREAT ! Rooms are quite correct but the water in the shower just to keep his t ° C regularly. A wonderful view of the bay of island.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Duke recently. The weather, although winter here in NZ was beautiful. We had a waterfront room , very clean and comfortable. Bed was a little hard for our old backs but we slept perfectly well anyway. The restaurant in the Duke was the highlight for us. The food was fantastic and the staff approach sublime. Such amazing service, Very professional, but with a touch of informality which makes the Duke so good

Room Tip: Gotta be waterfront- sunny and view of the water of course
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in "The Duke" whilst touring the north island of New Zealand. Stayed in a room with fantastic views of the harbour and the wharf. Very warm and comfortable. Ate both nights in the restaurant which was great.Lovely atmosphere with an open fire. Excellent cuisine. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room with sea.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I had a great time staying at the Duke of Marlborough for my birthday recently. The hotel has a wonderful 'old world' charm and the restaurant was incredible, fine dining at it's best, and the most professional staff especially in the restaurant and bar. I would highly recommend a stay,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AALattimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
287 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
211 reviews
2.2 mi away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
632 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range: £67 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing