We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here during a four week tour of NZ in February.
It's a quaint, character hotel in a lovely waterfront location.
The outside dining area is an ideal spot to just sit, have a drink, read and relax.
Our evening meal was perfect and the continental breakfast of yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, toast etc was more than adequate.
And.... to top it all we had a lovely Welsh waitress!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    285
    72
    17
    11
See reviews for
169
641
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have been to The Duke several times but have never stayed in the house. The experience was mixed. After requesting a dinner booking at the time of initial room booking and also when booking in, lo and behold when it came to seeking our table, alas no booking could be found. Just as well they were'nt too busy. The drinks waitperson was surley to say the least but that was outweighed by the effervescent waitress who was outstanding .
My wife and friends wife said their fish mains were outstanding. The blokes shared a shoulder of lamb _ undercooked and lacking imagination. All in all a marginal result and for the price disappointing

Room Tip: Get a harbour view room. Iconic NZ setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great location, on the strand in Russell overlooking the water. Lovely food in the restaurant, slow cooked shoulder of lamb for two was heavenly. The front desk staff were friendly and very efficient, booking trips and generally advising on what to do in the area. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alikav116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Hotel was everything I expected and more. The location was wonderful as was the service from reception right through to the waiters etc.

Even when we lost power during the cyclone, the staff had torches for everybody until generator took over, and the hotel shut the generator down overnight to keep the noise down.

Lots of memories of eating great food while watching the ferry coming and going.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I keep returning to "The Duke". Its been there for over a century in one form or other and I hope its there for ever. Go for the atmosphere not gold plate. It was the first hotel in New Zealand and in first impressions looks it. But by the time you've eaten there, slept there, and experienced their breakfast room on the Russell waterfront you might be in love with the place as well. The rooms are small and no frills but clean and comfortable. Service is friendly and appropriate and the food is good. The location cannot be beaten and its ideal for a romantic getaway. Its one of those places which inevitable gets some negative comments from reviewers expecting an American franchise hotel, but you will only know if you love the Duke by trying it. Take the time to relax, enjoy the location, take the ferry to Paihia or drive to Kerikeri and boat trips around the Bay of Islands.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the bay, but if you want to go to sleep early ask to be away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Accommodation wasn't good, I wouldn't stay there again based on our experience. I know when I booked it was the "small room", but this was an understatement; could hardly walk around the edge of the bed. You couldn't fill the kettle at the sink and to plug the kettle in had to move the coffee table under the plug and ballance the kettle on top of the box with the tea bags in for the cable to reach. Ensuite was extremely small and awkward too. Decor a bit DIY. Bar fridge acted as bedside cabinet on one side of the bed too. Also, dissappointing that breakfast was only continental and full cooked option not available.

Dinner on the other hand was really nice, good food and service and pleasant dining areas, some with great views over the seafront.

Room Tip: If you do decide to stay there, pay the extra and go for one of the bigger rooms; hopefully then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Never dissapoints, recently in Russell, took friends for lunch, had a lovely time as usual and the food was fantastic as was the service, the staff and the view is second to none. Totally love this place and you should make it a must if visiting Russell. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing