We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveller rating
791
330
90
20
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
791
330
90
20
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslambwaterfront roomseafood chowderold world charmoldest hotelwedding receptionnew zealandsmall roomwine listgreat mealopen fireoverlooking the baylovely locationwaters edgewatching the sunsetbeautiful roomthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
852 - 857 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The location of this hotel is stunning.Wonderful views of the Bay of Islands and perfect for the boat trips on offer.The ambience inside is lovely .Full of period features and old world charm.Rooms are spacious,well appointed,and clean.
Restaurant is very good with excellent fish dishes.
Take the Hole in the Rock Boat Tour and visit the Waitangi Treaty site.Both terrific.
For birdwatchers saw more species on the walk to Flagstaff Hill than in more exotic locations.
Sitting outside on the veranda was simply magical.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were nearing the end of our three week holiday in New Zealand and were delighted to find that we had saved the best till last! Not only was the location stunning but the food was excellent (dinner on the front deck on all three nights), and the staff were welcoming and helpful at all times. We paid a little extra to have a room overlooking the bay and greatly enjoyed gazing out at the tranquil setting, watching the boats/ferries plying to and fro. We arranged a day tour of the islands called The Cream Trip with 'Fullers Great Sights', a company that had been in existence for 80 years and which delivered mail and provisions to residents on out-lying islands. Not only did this add to the interest of the tour, but the captain provided useful commentary as and when there was something to see. He had a knack of tracking down dolphins and we were so lucky to come across several pods, and to experience their leaping from the water to enjoy the foam created by the bow waves and at the stern. We also took a one-hour mini-bus tour of the area from at departure point just around the corner from the hotel. The knowledgeable driver pointed out many fascinating, historical buildings and interesting vistas that we would not have discovered on our own - a great insight into this delightful spot.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay at the front are slightly more expensive but the view is well worth it.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chapmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

As we could not get into the Seaview rooms due to them being booked out we took the gamble of the bungalow and were so glad we did. You felt you had your own piece of paradise as you were completely separated from the hotel but just wondered next door for dinner and drinks, having your own courtyard meant you could sit and enjoy drinks without the closeness of others. The bungalow is more than spacious and comfortable for two. Our dinner was absolutely delightful as was the view from the deck. The weather was kind also and this just made this quaint and friendly township a joy to be in.

Room Tip: For privacy I would only book into the bungalow now having experienced it
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a perfect place to experience the charm of this lovely area during the quiet autumn off-season. The room was comfortable and clean, but next time I'd get the bay view, just so we could look out in the early morning and evening. Staff were all friendly and helpful, and there is much to do in the vicinity, on land and in the water.

Room Tip: Rooms to the south have a second-story roof-top area where you can sit out under the stars, but go for the bay view (we didn't try it, but it looked good!)
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoniAleka808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Stayed here during a four week tour of NZ in February.
It's a quaint, character hotel in a lovely waterfront location.
The outside dining area is an ideal spot to just sit, have a drink, read and relax.
Our evening meal was perfect and the continental breakfast of yoghurt, cold meats, cheeses, toast etc was more than adequate.
And.... to top it all we had a lovely Welsh waitress!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews