We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms to suit all tastes and What a View”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
624 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“Rooms to suit all tastes and What a View”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We spent the first night in a back room which are quite small but functional and overlook the car park (sounds worse than it is!). These rooms were quite quiet for an old boned building and had comfy beds and were very clean. We moved to a sea view room at the front of the hotel for our next 2 nights and these are much larger with a sitting area, king beds and baths in large bathroom with separate toilet room. Nice white decor and very very comfortable. Only slight downside is the noise from downstairs when they start moving furniture to vacuum early morning - it is an old building so to be expected.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuckinBangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    664
    286
    73
    17
    12
See reviews for
171
646
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is very well run and comfortable. The restaurant serves great food and is also efficient . There is a comfortable old style bar with leather sofas etc. opening out to the restaurant. The view at the front is beautiful out to the bay with 200 year old mature trees along the beach. There seem to be a number of community events at the place and it has a warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDTravellerLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

From the time we arrived till we left, the hospitality was friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and clean with modern facilities while the Duke, overall maintained an air of history with ole world charm. Very small bathroom but served the purpose.

Room Tip: Not a great idea to have a room over the dance floor if attending a wedding and wanting to retire ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaka, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 4 for one night. The room was wonderful! We had a huge bathroom and great big leather armchairs which we could sit at and overlook the lovely bay. We also had a lovely deck and luckily great weather to enjoy it.
We ate dinner at the restaurant which was as you would expect... Pricey but worth every dollar!
Friendly staff also made our stay great and the complimentry breakfast was very good!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Vicroynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Duke of Marlborough Hotel with my wife and six year old daughter. The service was warm, friendly and excellent. Food in the restaurant was great - we had both dinner and breakfast. The only downside was that the bathroom was extremely small and cramped. I couldn't even open or close the shower door without opening the bathroom door.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived late afternoon on Friday 25 April for a two nights stay. Greeting and into the room was easy. It was a lovely break over a long weekend that was made easy by the general friendliness and hospitality provided at the Duke.

Room Tip: We had a large room at the back which was lovely. The pillows were a little hard for me but otherwi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here for a few days in February. I have visited Russell many times, and have eaten at the Duke on many occasions, but this was my first stay. It's a lovely old building, with fantastic public areas and lots of history. The location is spectacular, right on the waterfront. The food is excellent, although when I stayed there was no cooked breakfast, just continental. However there are many cafes close by, so this wasn't a big issue. The rooms are basic and comfortable. I think I had one of the smaller rooms, and the view was over the yard of the building next door, which wasn't great. Some rooms open out on to a deck area, which I would have preferred. The wireless is OK, not super fast, but ok for email. Generally, the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view or a one that opens to a deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
278 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
29 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing