We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Really enjoyed staying here but wish we had more than 1 night. Lovely food and service. Clean and tidy room, if we had the money we would love to have an upgraded room but still no regrets from the room we stayed in. Perfect location, would definitely return again. I enjoyed looking at the old photographs and other memorabilia. Thank you

Room Tip: cosy room nice. Entered swimming pool on rating by mistake-hotel does not have a pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THunterYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    284
    72
    17
    11
See reviews for
168
640
20
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We've just enjoyed three fabulous nights at The Duke - Russell is a fantastic place to stay and The Duke is the perfect accommodation, full of historical charm, lovely rooms, fantastic restaurant. We had a Watefront Balcony room, very spacious, clean and had lovely amenities. The selection of quality Harney & Sons teas was amazing - we had to stay an extra night just to try all the tea! And of course, a teapot was in the room, along with a coffee plunger and coffee. The inclusion of continental breakfast in the room rate was a bonus, and really good breakfast too.

Room Tip: Waterfront balcony rooms are fantastic, and low season specials make them very affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Bought a grab one deal but unbeknown to me my daughter paid for an upgrade to a very luxurious king suite overlooking the bay which was gorgeous with a huge spa bath comfy bed and heaps of room. Staff were very welcoming & friendly throughout our 2 day stay. Great food and a lovely atmosphere. Totally recommend the Duke!!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay & wharf would definitely be my preference..fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mallyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paihia, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Thank you Duke of Marlborough for providing us the perfect 1 night getaway. We live/work in Paihia and even though we came just across the water it felt like we were a million miles away.
The receptionist was pleasant and helpful right from the time we made the reservation, to checking us in and out. So nice to get actual proper service!
As we had just worked a huge weekend we decided to spoil ourselves and upgraded our room. It was well worth the little extra money. Stunning!
Dinner was equally awesome. We live and breath food, and the food here reached all expectations! Delicious! Cant wait to come back.
Thanks so much.
Clint and Sasha
Krave Catering Paihia

Room Tip: If you can definitely recommend upgrading to a seaview/beachfront room. The views are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krave123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great place to stay in Russell. Our room was really nice and clean and we had a great big window with a view to the water.
We had dinner down in the restaurant and the quality of the food was superb!
Breakfast the next morning was an array of toast, muffins, crumpets and fruit and a big selection on tea.
Hallways are quite noisy at night im assuming that was due to a function downstairs that night and people were finishing up late.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melopuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

A great winter experience, room at the front with a great view, not too crowded, and good staff. We will certainly return. Russell is a quiet place, but there is always something to do. The walks are great, and the oysters perfect.

Room Tip: We had a 'front room #2', which I think may be a little noisy in summer, in winter, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hi there

Would just like to thank all the staff and especially the owners of the Duke of Marlborough for kindly giving us 2 nights accommodation and meals in conjunction with "Win a Wish" The Breeze radio station 93.4. We had a lovely Balcony room which was just beautiful, especially at night looking out at all the lights. Meals were beautiful and the staff couldnt do enough for us, even when we had to go early Saturday morning to go for our day trip out on the "Dolphin Seeker" Fullers Cruise, they prepared a breakfast for us in our room. If you want a beautiful location, good service and lots of activities available we highly recomend you stay here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mics12014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#1 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
2.2 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough Hotel

Property: Duke of Marlborough Hotel
Address: 35 The Strand, Russell 0255, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Russell
#1 Family Hotel in Russell
#2 Romantic Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough has been Refreshing Rascals and Reprobates since 1827 and holds New Zealand’s first liquor license. The Duke, as it is affectionately known is located on the waterfront in the picturesque village of Russell in the stunning Bay of Islands and is a great place to recharge the batteries, catch up with friends or simply enjoy the moment. With easy access to an exciting array of activities or sipping a glass of wine on our balcony there is plenty to see or do. There are three levels of accommodation our waterfront rooms with views across the water to Waitangi Treaty grounds and Paihia, bigger family rooms when you need extra space or our convenient standard rooms. All rooms have their own en-suites, Sky TV, wifi accessibility and tea and coffee making facilities. With an award winning chef and restaurant manager the restaurant at The Duke focuses on a menu packed with fresh seasonal Northland produce. The bar has an extensive list of New Zealand wines and beers – something for everyone to enjoy while watching the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Duke of Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Russell
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing