We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“American Folk Marvel in Bay Of Islands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ranked #5 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“American Folk Marvel in Bay Of Islands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Bed and Breakfasts, however good the accomodation, stand or fall by quality of the hosts. Marilyn and lee could not have been more hospitable. The breakfasts were far more imaginative than most hotels the bircher muesli was to die for!! They have a wealth of local knowledge and nothing was to much and after 20 years Marilyn has lost none of her enthuisiasm for looking after her guests but has learnt all the tricks that make for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
92
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here last January and although we have styed in some lovely bed & breakfasts, this was definitely our favourite on North Island.

Marilyn made us so welcome, lots of home cooking. Beautfiul rooms full of Marilyns amazing quilting. It is situated within walking distance of the centre of Russell where there are lots of good places for an evening meal.

The breakfasts were definitely the best of any we have had, everyday was different.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

We felt the cottage was damp and could have been warmer, with only one electric heater. The wood fireplace was not able to be started, but that could have been our own incompetence in such matters. However, overall the cottage was beautifully decorated and very very comfortable, and in spring or summer would be delightful.
Marilyn's breakfast was superb, and nothing was a trouble to her. One of our party was allergic to all dairy products, and it caused Marilyn no problem in the slightest preparing a great breakfast for us. Overall, recommended especially in Spring or Summer.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pittjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

This is a peaceful and beautiful location, and the B&B is a lovingly restored Villa, with wood floors and ceilings - totally traditional - and with an interesting history. Marilyn is a wonderful hostess, and her breakfasts are stunning - especially try the muesli - her secret recipe! And she is an expert quiltmaker - her designs are truly original and lovely.
I have stayed here now, at least four times over the past 10 years. I've travelled the world (US, South America, Africa, Europe, Middle East, Far East , Iceland, - Japan, India etc) and this is definitely my favourite B&B and the one I will always return to.

Room Tip: Honestly, all the rooms are great - I don't have a favourite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janevt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

How do you find a self contained apartment, that is also a B&B? Go to Ounuwhao Harding House just 1 minute drive from Russell shops.
We booked the 'cottage' which turns out to be a small 2 BR house! Each morning we strolled through the beautiful yet simple gardens to the main house for a sensational full homemade breakfast. A gourmet cooked meal plus (all home made) muesli, fruit, flavoured breads/toast with a range of jams, baked buns and muffins, juice, tea, hot chocoloate. We never left the table hungry!
The cottage has it's own driveway and is a 10-15 minute 1km flat stroll into Russell. Perfect for after a restaurant meal...or just drive for 1 minute.
Everything was clean and neat. Kitchen, laundry, dual bathrooms, lounge, dining, etc. TV with DVD player and DVDs. Books, magazines, and games.
Wireless Internet at the main house worked perfectly. Sit in the magnificent guests lounge with 12 foot ceilings and great surrounds.
A wonderful, relaxing place. Marilyn is extremely helpful, supplying info, maps and tips.
Would we go there again? Yes!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newbrownshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

So you think you’ve been to heaven, do you? Think again until you’ve sampled this gem of the South Pacific. The hospitality, the local knowledge, the history, the ambience, the sustenance: this place has it all. A must-see staging point for your tours of the North Island of New Zealand’s spectacular Far North.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChisnallsCanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

What a lovely Bed and Breakfast! Our 2nd stay here, the first being in 2007. We were so happy to come back. A heritage home with an interesting history. Marilyn warmly greets you with afternoon tea and homemade treats - perfect to sit on the porch overlooking the bay and take in the water views. Rooms are furnished with antiques and hand-crafted quilts. Baths are stocked with the finest soaps, shampoos. Comfortable beds, and amazing "designer" breakfasts, tasty and beautifully presented. This memorable accommodation adds to the overall charm of your visit to Russell.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoanddl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.5 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.4 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Clendon
The Clendon
#8 of 20 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Property: Ounuwhao Harding House
Address: 16 Hope Avenue | Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ounuwhao Harding House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing