We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Discovery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ranked #5 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Discovery”
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My partner and I stayed at Ounuwhau for two nights at Labour Weekend. We were very impressed with our accommodation and indeed the whole house, the attention to detail was exceptional. The cosy ambience made it feel like we were at home (even better), the breakfasts were amazing, and Marilyn and Lee were gracious and friendly hosts. Would highly recommend this B&B to everyone, this is a wonderful opportunity to experience a style of accommodation not commonly chosen by New Zealanders.

Richard and Regina, Auckland

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
93
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our family loved staying with Marilyn at her wonderful bed and breakfast. We stayed in the cottage with two young boys (for 3 nights) and also in the main guest house for an extra night , as the cottage was booked for that extra night. Marilyn and her partner were excellent hosts, and did all they could to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. The cottage was just the right thing for a family, and the breakfast - amazing ! The main building is simply stunning, having been restored meticulously by Marilyn and her family, with no attention to detail spared. The cottage is understandably more understated, but impeccably clean and comfortable, allowing you to chill out, relax, and cook at home if you need to. It is also very private as it is away from the main guest house. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray9990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My husband won an auction on TradeMe for 2 x nights accommodation in a self contained 2 bedroom cottage & a meal voucher (by accident). All was forgiven when we arrived at Marilyn's lovely B & B, we were shown to the cottage & were amazed at how big it was. Marilyn has beautifully decorated it with all of her lovely patchwork quilts, the log fire was ready to go & we had a container full of beautiful homebaked afghan biscuits (didn't last long with the kids) & a bottle of wine waiting for us. The breakfast is a must if you stay (fantastic). It was nice to know the funds from this auction were going toward upkeep of the Russell Wharf which is a necessity for Russell.
Thank you Marilyn for a wonderful weekend away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We spent 2 nights at the beautiful B & B. Marilyn was the best host!!! We were on a girls quilting weekend, and Marilyn kept us feed us breakfast, morning tea, lunch and afternoon tea - so much yummy food. Nothing was to much trouble. The house is beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this wonderful place in January. The house is beautiful, nicely restored and the rooms are very comfortable and immaculate. The quilts made by Marilyn are lovely, and give the place such a nice warm touch. Marilyn was a superb hostess, and went to a lot of trouble to help us rearrange some activities affected by the weather. It was a really nice place to begin our New Zealand trip. Our favorite thing, besides the lovely accomodations and Marilyn's great breakfasts, was sitting on the verandah in the evening with a bottle of wine.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reed2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We spent 5 nights staying in the garden suite of this fantastic B&B;, situated 10 minutes stroll from Russell. I can honestly say it was one of the best B&Bs; we have stayed in, if not the best.
The room was immaculate and had everything that you needed and more.The breakfasts were to die for, not the place to stay if you want to lose weight!!
Marilyn's patchwork quilts were truely inspirational. I would reccommend this B&B; to anyone without hesitation. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Good facilities in the garden suite, a spa bath, microwave and fridge, small kitchen area. Own terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed at in the cottage for 2 nights in early March. Marilyn and Lee couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. The main house and cottage are very cosy and have a lovely homely feel. On arrival Marilyn gave us a lovely bottle of Pinot Noir and a beautiful zucchini and chocolate slice she baked, it was delicious. Marilyn and Lee were both very knowledgable about the area and advised on what to do and visit. Her breakfasts are a must! Only $20 and they set you up for the day. They couldn't have done anything else to make our stay more comfortable. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineandPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.5 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
278 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
239 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eagles Nest
Eagles Nest
#2 of 14 in Russell
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Property: Ounuwhao Harding House
Address: 16 Hope Avenue | Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ounuwhao Harding House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing