We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ounuwhao Harding House
Nearby Hotels
Duke Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$163
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore's Lodge(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$146
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Anchorage Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$99
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triton Lodge(Russell)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
137
10
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
10
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakesgarden suiteb bbeautiful quiltsbedrooms and two bathroomsfresh flowershomemade breadon arrivalmatauri baytraditional kitchenyacht clubhistorical homebeautiful homesteadgreat christmaspreserved fruitzucchini frittersnew zealand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Marilyn and Lee made us most welcome in their beautiful home. They provide well for their guests, peaceful pretty gardens, a pleasant guest lounge and comfortable bedrooms.
The breakfast is plentiful and stokes you up for the day. Eating at the same table as other guests feels more like a house party than a guest house which is a welcome change.
The only slight disadvantage for us is that we felt cold, but as we had recently come from a much warmer climate we may not have adjusted. If you feel the cold take some warm clothes but don't let that put you off - it's lovely

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy3Guildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

First time in Russell and extremely happy with the accommodation at Ounuwhao Harding House, and will certainly be returning. Amazed at the level of service and the friendliness of Marilyn and Lee. Marilyn's breakfast will not disappoint anyone, and will not leave you hungry. The house is incredible and the history behind it is great to take in, also the story around how the house was moved to it's current site is really something. Would highly recommend to all looking for a really lovely place to get away and relax, plus nice and close to Russell town center - just around the corner.

Zak Kerrigan

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just got back from a long weekend in Russell staying at Ounuwhao and feeling so relaxed and refreshed. We stayed in the cottage which was like a home from home with everything you could possibly need. When Marilyn showed us round I just fell in love with the place ... definately my kind of house. Fresh flowers from the garden in every room and a lovely welcome message on the chalkboard as we walked in ... a bottle of wine in the fridge, some home baking just for us and an invitation to help ourself to fruit from the trees in the garden. Going on holiday with children you are sometimes worried about how child friendly a place will be but we had no worries here .. Marilyn has thought of everything ... toys and books in the lounge and cuddly toys in the bedroom. Mr 4 didn't want to leave and he is not easily pleased so thank you for everything we hope to be back again.

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely with nice outlooks
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I was invited to attend a corporate mid winter celebration at the Ounuwhao Harding House. What a delight this place is. In every luxurious room are patchwork quilts and decorations galore. Marilyn is the most hospitable hostess and her home made cooking is amazing. The gardens and surroundings are stunning. I thoroughly recommend this bed and breakfast. Its ideal for corporate get-togethers, families, couples and those travelling on their own.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Russell is a stunning place to stay in the beautiful Bay of Islands . The Ounuwhao Harding House is in a perfect location just a short stroll from the centre of Russell and also from a lovely unspoiled beach (Long Beach).The house is full of character with every convenience imaginable but what made our stay so special was Marilyn. She cared for our every need and her breakfasts were simply fabulous - each one was a delightful creation. Fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STELLAANDJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopeave, Owner at Ounuwhao Harding House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Many thanks Sheila and John. LOVED having you to stay and so glad you enjoyed your whole Russell Experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews