We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top B&B!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ounuwhao Harding House
Ranked #5 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top B&B!”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We had an excellent time in Russell, Marylinn at Ounuwhao really is an expert at B&B experiences for young, and old. I highly recommend this place on anyone's list of must hit B&B's. The breakfast is truly gourmet, the cats are snuggly and the house is warm and inviting.

10/10.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which room you stay in, just make sure you stay inside the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    10
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
92
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is the very first B&B we have ever stayed at. Beautiful old villa superbly decorated. Great quiet and peaceful location with a very easy stroll into Russell. Hosts were wonderful and the breakfasts superb. Would definitely recommend and certainly hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gade34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is an exceptional homestead encompassing all the beauty of yesteryear with the ultimate in modern comfort. The breakfasts are the best i have had anywhere with delicious home cooking and preserves. The accommodation has been looked after with fine detail including fresh flowers, arrival drinks, chocolates and a vast array of bathroom products. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to other travellers

Room Tip: All the rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This wonderful house together with the charm of our hosts made this the perfect place for the Bay iof Islands part of our NZ holiday. The room was charming and the quilts beautiful. We were charmed by tea and delicious cake on arrival and the breakfasts are to die for with home made bread and jams and different delicious takes on a cooked breakfast. Perfect

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

What a charming old villa! The rooms are full of character with their old worldly charm and so tastefully decorated. The beautiful quilts on the bed, the fresh flowers, simply everything makes your stay memorable. The breakfasts are to die for and Marilyn is the perfect hostess. We could not have asked for anything more to make our wedding anniversary so very special!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UllaC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This place has charm, ambience, beautiful well appointed rooms and fantastic breakfasts.
The house is lovely. The rooms have everything you could want.
The hostess makes the most amazing breakfasts. There was different cooked food every day. The range of freshly baked bread, muesli, home preserved fruit and jams was stunning.
Then place was a short pleasant walk from the centre of Russell.
Russell is a world away from the craziness of Paihia.
Don't miss the chance to stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the en suite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed in the cottage of the grounds of this B&B. It was beautiful, well furnished and comfortable, with Its own private area with Sun lounges and picnic table. The lounge had beautiful views of the bay. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful and Marylin left tasty treats in the cottage for us. For our last day we booked in for breakfast. It was a wholesome treat, setting us up for our journey ahead. Homemade bread, muffins, preserves , fruit AND a cooked breakfast with fresh juice.
Ideally placed for a gentle one k walk into beautiful Russell.
Couldn't rate this accommodation highly enough.

Room Tip: The cottage had a comfortable double bed with en suite, another bedroom had 2single beds with own ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keswickf0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Russell hotels
0.5 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#2 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Clendon
The Clendon
#8 of 20 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ounuwhao Harding House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ounuwhao Harding House

Property: Ounuwhao Harding House
Address: 16 Hope Avenue | Matauwhi Bay, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ounuwhao Harding House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ounuwhao Harding House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ounuwhao Harding House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing