We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely church and grounds”
Review of Christ Church

Christ Church
Book In Advance
More Info
US$163.45*
and up
Bay of Islands Day Tour from Auckland
Ranked #3 of 24 things to do in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nau mai, haere and welcome to Christ Church, New Zealand's oldest existing church and cemetery. A digital walk can be downloaded from the App stores from Hikoi Tahi Walking Tours which share the fascinating stories of some of the people buried here. Enjoy visiting our cemetery and do visit our beautiful church.
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely church and grounds”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Small timber church restored in last decade. Lovely welcoming feel, beautiful hand made tapestry cushions on all the pews. Surrounding graveyard interesting, and in immaculate condition.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    92
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An interesting little church”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was an interesting little church with added history in the cemetery, which was worth looking round..especially the memorial to HMS HAZARD (1845) & also 'Chief Tamati Waka Nene' - i just loved the quite location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christ Church, Russell”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Excellent, my wife and I attended the mothers day service, Sunday May 10, 2014, and were warmly welcomed by the clergy and parishioners. The hosts enlightened us the significance and the history of the oldest church in New Zealand.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alanda303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu Beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the church”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The church has been here forever,, even to the stage where the bullet holes from the Maori wars are still there. My husband has many relatives buried there, so its always on the list of places to go when we end up in russell. Just wish it was more often.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Nothing to see, very poorly signposted, no tourist information. Obviously the local council doesn't care about tourists until it's rebuilt...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shortonfunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christ Church also viewed

 
Kerikeri, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Christ Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing