We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience!!”

TukTuk Bangkok Thai Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 23 Restaurants in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible experience!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Had a truly aweful experience here recently. Food ordered not available for a number of items ( not at all for a year but still on menu as a choice). Asked for chicken dish - got beef, second attempt had no chicken or any meat! When we complained manager was very rude and refused to correct the error insulting us and referring to where we were holidaying from in a derogatory way. Only one chef and waitress working so slow service too. We left without finishing dinner.
Sad thing is we had previously had great meals there over a number of years so took along our overseas visitors - was super embarrassing.
This restraunt is currently in the market for sale I do hope new owners do not employ the current manager as he is probably the biggest negative to the business. Shame when food there is good
Very disappointing :(

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    35
    8
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ok food, service iffy”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

have visited this place a couple of times. Food is ok, standard thai fare. Seats outside are nice enough in the sun, nothing to look at as not waterfront. Inside seats dated and cramped.
Showed up last time to a half empty restaurant with two kids to be told it was booked out, which was crap, but looking at it, the owner was only front of house staff so simply wasn't coping and turning away any potential troublesome customers (high chairs etc). His right to do so I suppose, but left a bad taste!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bgboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Delilcious!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Wonderful food, service was ok, waitress turned people way as she had 2 groups of 10 which i thought was a bit off but she went out of her way to help us - may have been a language barrier with her, but all in all, very happy with our meal and the price. BYO too which is great :)

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JodieT1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Tasty”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We were looking for a place to taste some food that will tickle our taste buds and Tuk Tuk Bancock exactly did that. I have never been to Bangkok but their ambience right from the entrance provided a feel of Thai in every manner. The interior is beautiful with some big royal frames. The food was just the way we wanted it to be. The presentation of the food was good The manager is kind and doesn't shy away from a friendly talk.

Surprising to see a Thai restaurant among the Cafes that one can see all over Russell but it is worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank natchiram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very obliging”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

After turning up after the closed sign was already up and this was the last trading night before taking their annual holiday, the owners still managed a smile and found the makings of a fine meal for us.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tessMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TukTuk Bangkok Thai Restaurant also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to TukTuk Bangkok Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing