We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sailing therapy in the Bay of Islands”

Vigilant Yacht Charters
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capture the magic of this classic single mast yacht as you sail around the aquatic playground of the bay of islands. Design your own day, your own custom built adventure, aboard this 14 meter fully equipped yacht which offers you the very best in quality, comfort and safety and where your experienced skipper and crew are on board to ensure you have a day to remember.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Christchurch
2 reviews
“Sailing therapy in the Bay of Islands”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

For a chilled day unwinding and relaxing book a day on the Vigilant, a 42 ft cutter rig with traditional teak decks and not a furler in sight . The day we went out skipper Wolfgang was keen to share his sailing knowledge and explain the basics. City execs took turns taking the helm - a great de-stressor and reviver of the spirit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank pmg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 16 February 2015
Sailing Theraphy, I like that. Might have to use that term more often :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Day”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We had a brilliant day out on the Vigilant yacht and would recommend it to all visiting the Bay of Islands. Tim and David were fantastic and made sure we had fun throughout.
Would 100% recommend doing this over the very commercial equivalent trips from the larger operators. We had 12 people on the boat and were able to help out with the sailing also.
Again, brilliant trip that was also great value for money.

Helpful?
Thank gavmountford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 16 February 2015
Thank you very much, Many great days during the summers months, Been blessed with good weather :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“An Excellent Sailing Adventure”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Did a full day sailing with Nic and his crew on our last day in Paihia for the Labour Day Weekend-a really great end to our time away!
Nic and his crew were welcoming and friendly throughout the day answering all our silly little questions and giving us an insight into the area at every opportunity which really added to the experience out on the bay!
We were lucky enough to come across both dolphins AND Orcas on our sailing trip along with some penguins which was a truely awesome sight!
The boat itself is a beauty and the guys also hand over the reigns to let you have a go at sailing if your up for the challenge!
I would definitely recommend choosing it over the many dolphin charters available for more than few good reasons....the dolphin charters are jam packed whereas we sailed on a busy weekend with a full house of 12 plus the crew. The smaller numbers meant we could all relax on deck, take in the sights and be in earshot for all the snippets of information on the area. We saw penguins, dolphins AND Orca whales which was pretty amazing and the big one-the crew shut off the engine and we sailed the entire journey home...exactly what sailing the Bay of Islands is all about!!

So a bit of an essay-but it really is great value for money and a great day out for old, young and everybody in between especially now that the Summer months are upon us!!
(I also forgot to mention we got a great lunch on board of yummy sandwiches and heaps of fresh fruit!!!)

Amy

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Wow I loved your essay! Really nice for you to have said so much. We have the Orca back in town at the moment. Very special creatures
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great day out.”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I went for a sailing day with Nik and Kit last weekend. They made me feel very welcome and we were able to be as involved as much or as little as possible. Smaller amount of people on this yacht mean you can have great input into what you want to see and do. Felt well looked after by life long locals. Thanks for a great day out.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Thanks Jane,

I do love showing off Home to others. It never gets boring :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery, Good vibes and a fun, friendly, knowlegeable crew”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Last week I went on a 4 day road trip around the Northlands and this trip on Vigilant was the best tour we went on.
We set sail from Russell then headed to a small beautiful island to relax and climb to the summit. After a wee swim we set sail and encountered 3 massive wild Dolphins that decided to follow close to the boats bow as we sailed along. It was incredible. We also seen Penguins and Gannetts.
Nick and Kip were very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable about the Bay of Islands. They helped create a warm, relaxed atmosphere to accommodate the beautiful scenery.
I would recommend this trip for everyone. I went with my partner but I cant see why it wouldn't be suitable for anyone.

Cameron

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cameron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 9 December 2014
Agreed, good times had by all. It really is a pleasure taking new people to the area sailing.

Thanks for joining us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vigilant Yacht Charters also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Paihia, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Vigilant Yacht Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing