We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family day sail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vigilant Yacht Charters

Vigilant Yacht Charters
Ranked #2 of 14 Tours in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capture the magic of this classic single mast yacht as you sail around the aquatic playground of the bay of islands. Design your own day, your own custom built adventure, aboard this 14 meter fully equipped yacht which offers you the very best in quality, comfort and safety and where your experienced skipper and crew are on board to ensure you have a day to remember.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Family day sail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A great day out of Russell for the family. Thanks, Nick. Just what we needed. Plenty of wildlife, some fun sailing, and a lovely boat.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks Andrew, Love my yacht too :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great time. Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We just back from a great day on Vigilant with Nick. We saw a bunch of dolphins and penguins. The lunch he made was amazing, (smoked chicken sandwich) and fruit from his yard! If you want a relaxing, personal touch to your Bay of Islands cruise. Then this is the way to go!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you Dave for your kind words, looking forward to another summer of sailing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell, New Zealand
1 review
“Bay of Islands Sailing Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had an amazing time with Nick as the captain. Was relaxing and fun. We sailed for a couple hours then stopped for lunch on Robinson island. Was a fantastic day! Got lots of beautiful pictures and Nick pointed out various islands, and told stories and a little bit of the areas history. Highly recommend going out in Vigilant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beauopdeweegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thanks Beau, Still remember that fun day of sail in some stiff breeze.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a great day on the Vigilant sailboat. We saw lots of dolphins and the scenery was stunning. Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Kris973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Hello Kris, Thank you for your kind words, sure I sent a reply to your review but not sure what happened to it! Hope you and your parter are well.
cheers
Nik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bay of Islands Best Water Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have had the most fantastic day out with the Skipper and Owner Nick. Vigilant is the most perfect sailing yacht you could wish for. It is beautiful and has absolutely everything you could want. Went swimming off the yacht and kayaking around some of the islands, dolphins up close and a beautiful lunch. Nick is charm personified. His relaxed manner and open, friendly nature made him a pleasure to spend the day with. We cannot recommend this trip enough.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick9962014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vigilant13, Owner at Vigilant Yacht Charters, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello Nick thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure meeting the two of you.

I hope its warming up for you here in the UK

All the best
Nik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vigilant Yacht Charters also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Vigilant Yacht Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing