We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Steve and Emma are just great hosts! Friendly, professional, they helped us decide on what to do in the area and booked the tours for us.
The room was gorgeous! You find everything you could possibly need, and everything is decorated with lots of attention to detail.
We could not have asked for a better place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manfred-and-Raphaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This place is just fantastic. The hosts are extremely friendly, professional and courteous, the room was gorgeous and breakfast delicious. So close to the wonderful little town of Russell where time seems to stand still. We could not have asked for a more awesome little get away from the city for a weekend. Cheers!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyAndKrysten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stopped for, sadly one night and found it just amazing. Certainly the best b&b we've ever stopped in. Everything beautifully done and all needs catered for. Oh and that breakfast...wow! Thanks to wonderful hosts Steve and Emma. We were in Russell with two friends from Australia so could not have asked for better to show off our beautiful NZ! We will be returning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newkiwi60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Wonderful stay at the White House. Emma and Steve were excellent hosts and were very knowledgeable about the history and activities surronding their charming town. The mornings were delightful with the fantastic breakfast sitting outside in the peace and tranquility of the backyard garden. In the evening, amazing views of the stars with a glass of wine on the upstairs deck. A great first few days in New Zealand. Thanks Emma and Steve.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

What a great B and B - the room was luxurious, breakfasts were amazing and the location was superb. The room was a lovely place to come back to each night, the bed was excellent. The White House was a great place to explore Russell from, there were several walks from the doorstep as well as a good range of very nice restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Steve and Emma were great hosts who provided absolutely everything we could have wanted. We look forward to staying the next time we are in the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at The White House for 3 nights over Easter Weekend. From the minute we arrived (early!), Emma and Steve made us feel more than welcome. Our room was immaculately clean, beautifully furnished and the bed more than comfortable. The breakfasts were incredible, and nothing was too much trouble. Steve and Emma had many suggestions of things to do in the area and we had a great time. We will definitely be back to stay at The White House and consider it one of the best accommodation options in the Bay of Islands area. Thanks again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

This is a special place. The atmosphere is informal but the standards are impeccable. Steve and Emma went out of their way to make our stay at the White House an enjoyable one. The suggestions on what to do and where to go locally and the assistance with bookings were much appreciated. The White House is a credit to them both and we would definitely stay there again. If you do stay, ask Steve to recommend a good place to have dinner in Russell. You may get a surprise. We did - and we enjoyed it.
John and Barbara V

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#1 of 21 in Russell
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 7 Church Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Heritage Holiday Accommodation in the heart of Russell, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. A 2 minute flat walk to the waterfront. In one of NZ's oldest houses you can't help but have a truly unique stay. Circa 1840. 'The White House' - the luxuries of a hotel with the comfort of a home. A fully renovated villa with open plan kitchen/lounge, 4 beautiful ensuite rooms & Super King size beds. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing