We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White House
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We stayed at The White House for three nights close to the beginning of our travels in New Zealand and were still suffering a bit from jet lag. Steve and Emma are exceptionally friendly and laid back hosts and staying with them certainly helped us relax and take in the wonderful atmosphere of Russell and the surrounding Bay of Islands. The accommodation was very comfortable and Steve and Emma have done a great job in restoring an historic property which had been left derelict. Steve's cooked breakfasts were great and Emma was kind enough to let us use her washing machine and hang out our stuff to dry. A couple of days after we left, my husband realized that he had left some clothing in the room. We tracked Steve and Emma down (on one of their rare days off!) and Emma came to the rescue by shipping the items on to Wellington where they were waiting for us on our arrival. Many thanks to our wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muskoka_canadaSwooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    9
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
77
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

There is a wealth of interesting and nice places to stay in Russell, but don't overlook The White House. And for goodness sake, do not spend all of your time in the Bay of Islands in Paihia!!! The White House has a history at least as fascinating as the rest of Russell (which is saying a lot) and the amenities are second to none. The hosts are warm and welcoming, keen to tell you some stories, and the rooms are excellent. Lovely beds and linen, a spa, mere seconds from town and the waterfront, and decent, old fashioned hospitality. Plenty of outdoor spaces to enjoy, my only tip - take some insect repellant for the mozzies!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jesseliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We drove to Russell from Auckland thinking we'd stay a couple of nights at the White House. On arrival Emma and Steve made us feel so welcome and we chatted about things to see and do in the area. We decided on a couple of trips - dolphin cruise (yes we saw them) and the 90 mile beach drive - both trips were fantastic. So we stayed an extra night and really enjoyed the hospitality from Emma and Steve. Emma and Steve are great hosts - Steve's brekkie was superb and kept us going all day. Our room was spacious and very comfortable - plunger coffee and chocs were a really nice touch. We had a fabulous time in Russell and our stay with Emma and Steve made it all the more enjoyable. Loads of tips on where to visit on both the North and South Island - thanks to both of you we had a great stay with you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutlanders65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

I have never stayed anywhere as lovely as the White House in Russell. The room was beautiful and the hosts' attention to detail was evident in every aspect of the house, garden, breakfast and the service always came with a smile. Having breakfast in the garden each morning was delightful and I was very sorry to have to go home at the end of my stay. I look forward to coming back. Thank you very much, Emma and Steve!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

On my first trip to Bay of Islands in 2007, I was indeed fortunate to have selected The White House, Russell, as my accommodation. Since then, I have been back at least a half-dozen times, always staying at my home-away-from-home. After all, why go looking for alternative lodging once you have found the perfect spot?
The rooms are well appointed, and the beds luxuriously comfortable. (I sleep more soundly here than I do in my own bed) I highly recommend the sumptuous breakfast – it’s a great way to start the day.
Steve and Emma are exemplary hosts, dedicated to making your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Incidentally, they are internationally licensed travel agents, so, whether you intend to travel about, or indulge in local activities, be sure to tap their extensive knowledge of the area (particularly New Zealand, but they consider Oceania and most of Asia to simply be extensions of their own back yard) – they will be happy to assist you in creating and booking an itinerary tailored specifically to your tastes. Well-regarded in the community, you can rest assured that if Steve or Emma cannot directly answer any question you might have, they’ll put you in touch with someone who can.
The only negative aspect I associate with The White House is always wishing I had booked a longer stay when it comes time to check out. My advice: go often, and stay as long as you can!

Room Tip: I've had the pleasure of staying in all three rooms on different occasions. All good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Morrow_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

Fantastic Hosts, Great location, Superb Rooms and the best breakfast in town. Had a lovely 3 nights (without the kids) and enjoyed every secon. Have stayed in Russell many times and can't believe I've missed this gem in the past. Next time we have a childless weekend we'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed just one night. The room was lovely and well appointed, and came with everything you might need - beach towels, plunger coffee, good selection of tea, fridge, bath robes, chocolate bar, TV. We enjoyed sitting outside on the deck in the morning drinking coffee. The hosts were lovely too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AntandKateandOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flagstaff Lodge & Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Seaport Village
Seaport Village
#12 of 21 in Russell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: 7 Church Street, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The White House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Heritage Holiday Accommodation in the heart of Russell, Bay of Islands, New Zealand. A 2 minute flat walk to the waterfront. In one of NZ's oldest houses you can't help but have a truly unique stay. Circa 1840. 'The White House' - the luxuries of a hotel with the comfort of a home. A fully renovated villa with open plan kitchen/lounge, 4 beautiful ensuite rooms & Super King size beds. FREE Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing