We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Charter We have been on”
Review of Get Reel Charters

Get Reel Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Charter fishing in the Bay of Islands New Zealand, we target snapper, kingfish and gamefish like marlin, tuna, shark, mahimahi. Snapper trips are for 4 hours, kingfish are 6 hours and game trips are 8 hours. I also offer exclusive sight seeing trips.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Charter We have been on”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My partner and I have been on quite a few charters in Australia and abroad - this one with out a doubt has been not only the most successful but the most comfortable and enjoyable.
Paul the skippers boat is really nice, we hired the whole boat and we had one lady that was a non fisher in our group - this was not a problem as the boat was comfortable and very clean.
Our aim was Kingfish, and boy did we bring in some big ones - we decided to change it up and then go after snapper as our arms were so tired!
Great day out and beautiful scenery to top it off. We would recommend to all.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank sknoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    1
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fishing, what else”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic day with Paul and his ,mate, Dave. We did sight one Marlin , but unfortunately they were not biting (it would be called catching not fishing if it was that easy).
Paul tried very hard and for a long while to get a Marlin, even spending more time on the way back when some Tuna decided to bite.
However, we did stop for an hour or so catching very big Snapper, many times two at a time, it was fantastic.
I would not hesitate to recommend Get Reel charters and skipper/owner Paul.
If we ever came back to New Zealand, Get Reel charters would be among the first on my list !!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaitaia, New Zealand
1 review
“Awesome day fishing!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Thanks to Get Reel Charters for the fishing experience! It was such a kind donation to give to local Ambulance Officers, and a needed day out for all of us. We really appreciated your time and the trip fishing! The big snappers that we caught to take home made an awesome meal last night, with enough left overs for lunch! Highly recommend Get Reel Charters for your next fishing trip!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lonneke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Get Reel private charter”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great day on the bay with Paul. He was a fantastic skipper with a great boat. He took us to some great fishing spots where we caught Kingfish and Snapper and then showed us around some of the bays as per our request. He knew the best beaches and was a great tour guide.
I would highly recommend Get Reel and would use them anytime we go again. Thanks so much!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous day- on "Get ReeL" :-)”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Went out with a charter targeting snapper. I asked to place a live bait overboard . I caught a 8 pound snapper and then placing my second livebait over a large kingfish snapped it up.
The other fisherZ were a Dad n Two daughters….all on that day was there Biggest Fish ever….
8 snapper 1 large Kingfish…
Thank YOu Get Reel

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveNzkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Get Reel Charters also viewed

Russell, Bay of Islands
 
Russell, Bay of Islands
 

Been to Get Reel Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing