We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful few days”
Review of Arcadia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arcadia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Russell B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at Arcadia Lodge, it is in a superb position, everything was very clean, David and Brad very good hosts and we thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a very hospitable base in the beautiful Bay os Islands

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Arcadia Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

Perfectly situated with to die for views from the balcony and bedroom. Warm and welcoming hosts that made us feel very at home. Breakfast was superb!

We have fallen in love with Russell and the Bay of Islands and will be doing our best to squeeze another visit in before we return home to the UK in April.

Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naturallyvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The Arcadia Lodge was simply 1 st class. The accommodation, setting, location, welcome and breakfasts were all incredible. David and Brad made every effort to ensure that our honeymoon visit was one to remember and this establishment is one that we would always recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Fantastic B and B-very stylish and spotlessly clean.Great location and superb views.Delicious breakfast.David and Brad were superb hosts and David went out of his way to help organise trips for us.Situated in quiet part of Russell but short walk into town.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikersPenrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Acadia Lodge is a comfortable and stylish B&B within walking distance to good restaurants and the Russell waterfront. The accommodating owners live on site in a separate home and provide a delicious, hot breakfast with homemade jams. The deck overlooking the water is the perfect place for an evening drink as well as breakfast. Acadia Lodge is a relaxing and restful retreat. Don't forget to look for the section of whale's vertebrae that used to hold up part of this antique home which has been meticulously restored!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the spacious room with the King sized bed and in suite bath. Since we were sailing On...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHtravels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had a room with a fantastic view. Our did not have en suite (seperate private bathroom) but we knew that before we booked.The room was very well presented. Free WIFI.

Breakfast was very good.

Dave was very helpfull.

The house was immaculately clean, tidy and well stocked with local books.

Just a short 10 mins walk to town.

Would totally recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tattersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights while touring the north island and this is a great place to relax and unwind.
The house, being older, has plenty of character and charm and it is beautifully furnished.
Hosts Brad and David are charming and provide plenty of tips and local knowledge.
The location is just a short walk into Russell, and the views from the front of the lodge are over the water, and the deck takes advantage of this.
Our suite was spacious and comfortable and had direct access to a deck.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor suite with a deck
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.4 mi away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
287 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
0.4 mi away
Bellrock Lodge
Bellrock Lodge
#1 of 20 in Russell
338 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tiki Tiki Ora
Tiki Tiki Ora
#3 of 20 in Russell
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Lodge

Address: 10 Florance Avenue, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Russell
Price Range: £115 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arcadia Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arcadia Lodge is an historic (c 1902) house with magnificent views of one of the most beautiful bays in New Zealand's Bay of Islands. The style of the lodge is simple and uncluttered, the atmosphere relaxed, the breakfasts healthy and made fresh using local ingredients. Five rooms, four en-suite, one with private, non-sharing bathroom. The large front deck looks out onto the bay, perfect for breakfast or a wine at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arcadia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing